ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 2 colors

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Columbus/Ohio/USA
    Posts
    1,609

    2 colors

    can some1 guide me back to the way of using 2 colors on the brush? i suppose that's possible?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    2,877
    Hi Rondo,

    For the tools that allow it, such as the Oil Brush, Watercolor, Palette Knife (on Flat or Edge mode), turning off the "Auto Clean" feature will allow for the pickup of residual paint on the canvas. You'll find the option located on the settings panel, if the tool allows for it.
    Nothing is easy to the unwilling.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Columbus/Ohio/USA
    Posts
    1,609
    so?of what i understand is that the colors has to be on the canvas already?i can not,lets say, make a scrap with 2 colors , use my brush to pick up these colors and use the brush on my canvas?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    2,877
    If I remember right, as long as the Auto Clean option is off, it will pick up the color from both the canvas or a scrap.
    Nothing is easy to the unwilling.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    2,030
    Name:  loading autoclean multicolor oil brush.jpg
Views: 114
Size:  89.0 KB


    Yup, Scraps are basically designed for this sort of thing. The one thing to bear in mind is that the loading of paint on the brush will affect the stroke - you're still going to get MORE of the current colour - so you might want to overload it with the other colour, or turn down loading.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Columbus/Ohio/USA
    Posts
    1,609
    double post
    Last edited by Rondo; 10-02-2016 at 02:28 PM. Reason: included in following up post

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Columbus/Ohio/USA
    Posts
    1,609
    Quote Originally Posted by HannahRage View Post
    Name:  loading autoclean multicolor oil brush.jpg
Views: 114
Size:  89.0 KB


    Yup, Scraps are basically designed for this sort of thing. The one thing to bear in mind is that the loading of paint on the brush will affect the stroke - you're still going to get MORE of the current colour - so you might want to overload it with the other colour, or turn down loading.
    Rondo
    but what if i need more then 1 stroke? lets say i want to paint leaves with two shades of green? how do i do that? do i have to make many two color spots?I mean......ones you have run your brush through the colors? you can't do it again right? or??????

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    2,030
    If Autoclean is off, then your brush will retain the multiple colours for awhile, so you can make more than one stroke (how may just depends on your brush settings and how you draw).

    You can click the 'back' arrow on the scraps to undo the stroke and remix it as often as needed. You only really need to add the NEW colour, that isn't on the brush already.

    You can also make a few leaves and then turn them into a sticker spray instead.

    E.g.

    https://ambient-design.tumblr.com/po...r-sheet-part-1
    https://ambient-design.tumblr.com/po...r-spray-part-2

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Columbus/Ohio/USA
    Posts
    1,609
    It seems that the destruction of my lungs affect also my brain;(using this program far a while now and these obvious things seems to escape me;( thx for the info.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •