ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Is It Possible To...

Is It Possible To...

Hey everyone, new member here, first post actually. (: I'm quite new to art rage, even to digital art in fact!

I've just started a very large project for a friend of mine, it's a very cartoony style and I was playing around with a few things when I discovered the blur layer tool, I popped it on to see what it'd look like and awesome, it's just smoothed out all of my lines and added most of my shadows/highlights!

I'm very happy with the first character so far and I think the second will be even better but when I've come down to the background I'm in a pickle because all those lovely highlights of mine are transparent, is there any way I can keep them without having to brush them in myself whilst having a coloured background? The character is in the air and there are blues/greens behind him and green highlights look strange!

Thank you everybody (:

Well, not knowing exactly what your art looks like (ie how much of the page is covered with "paint" or color) --

-- IF your picture is only transparent for the highlights, you can make a new layer under the one with all your good work on it, (it will probably appear on a layer above, but just drag it under in the Layers Palette), and you can fill it with white.

-- OR you can make the new layer and broad stroke it generally under where the highlights are thus leaving the other areas of the background clear to be painted on -- on yet another separate layer below.

Once you have the concept of how it works, it should be easy for you thereafter to use layers for all kinds of stuff. This time it's a band-aid. Next time it's for massive effects or mats with scratches (or who knows what).