ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tools Spontaneously Switch To Eraser

Tools Spontaneously Switch To Eraser

I'm working on Yosemite 10.10.2

Using Artrage 4.5.4 (though this was an issue with the previous build, too)

When I'm using a tool, say sticker spray -- but not only sticker spray -- I'm finding the tool can spontaneously switch to the eraser. The only way I can get back to what I was doing is by saving, closing Artrage then opening up again.

I'm not accidentally pressing the button I have set up for erasing on my Wacom pen, just to get that out of the way.

The other thing that happens at the same time is the colour resets to a midtone blue. But I'm not sure it does this every time.

I've been using Artrage for over 3 years and this only started being a problem recently.

This could be something of nothing, but I'm using a larger canvas than usual. (4096x2992px) Other than that, I can't think of anything I'm doing differently at this end.

This sounds like a Stylus ID issue; the system is tracking a stylus that was set to an eraser and reporting that that stylus is being used.

Turn off Track Styluses in the Stylus Control Center to see if that fixes it (at the top of the Settings panel for any tool). If it does, you can clear settings, or remove individual styluses to get everything working again.

Name:  stylus control centre.jpg
Views: 72
Size:  46.1 KB

If that doesn't help, get back to us!
    Ambient Design Tech Support & Community Manager

This is not my signature.

Go forth and read the tutorials. Also, check out the featured artists!

Thank you, I will see if that has fixed it.

Unfortunately that didn't fix it.

Hmmm. Okay, before we try anything else, the super obvious thing is that you might be hitting the 'E' button. That's the shortcut for the eraser.