ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: I thought thisis interesting,

I thought thisis interesting,

I watched 3 of his vids and learned something from all of them. The most encouraging for me is that he has no art training. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gFxZQ...-Xq70O3tp3iCHw

The last time I kept an open mind,
    my brain fell out and the dog grabbed it.
    Now it's full of dirt, toothmarks, and dog slobber.
    No more open minds or dogs for me.www.gms9810.com/

Cool.

I always thought waving "Never went to school for it" and "Self-Taught" were a little misleading. (Be inspired by it sure. . . but it's merely circumstancial.) Whether someone went to school or not, we're all self-taught.

The value of classes is how one applies ones' self and the mindset one brings to a context. I learned most of what I know from living life and experience. I became an artist in high school where the only thing the 'teacher' did was unlock the supply cabinet. I was inspired by the artists of the time and what they were able to do.

I've been a student my whole life but was only in school for a comparatively short part of that. Some classes were useful and a large portion were a waste. I think after a student lays out a ton of money to learn something, they themselves get serious.

The real education comes by doing and following your own direction whether in school or not. And when you have to deal with the pressure to make a living at it, where you must deliver and keep current, you learn far more than any school will teach. I've been forever buying the occasional book, watching the occasional videos, you even take the odd class if you're lucky enough to find someone skilled that teaches what you want to learn. That happened for me a couple times deep into my career.