ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Large Paintings : 16"X48"

Large Paintings : 16"X48"

Hi all,

I'm new to Artrage and I'm currently trying the demo Artrage Studio Pro 3. I like to do large size paintings and I'm wondering whether Artrage can handle a 16"X48" @ 220 DPI. The end result is that I'd like to print this on canvas.

Has anyone done this before? Do I need to create a image that size to print on canvas or can I go lower?

The demo does no allow me to make an image that size. What is your feedback.

Lastly, has anyone used this in conjunction with either Pixelmator or Photoshop to do some art work? I'm interested to see how well it integrates with these programs as I would like to layer images on the art.

So far, loving Artrage.
    Dennis.

The quick answer is yes, you can do large prints in ArtRage, (check out my Deviant Art site), but like most quick answers, there are some issues. Large, high resolution images are RAM intensive, and ArtRage is, at present, limited to 32-bit code and can address little more than two gigs of RAM. This means that as the image grows, ArtRage slows down. You can import the image into 64-bit PhotoShop, but there are limits to how much of this you can get away with and not degrade your image. Don't be afraid to experiment.

You should try the AR2 Starter Edition. If I remember correctly, it allows you to change the size of the documents to whatever you'd like, but limits the amount of feature/tools you may use. It should give you a good idea of how AR3 will run at the sizes you need, because if you can work with the Starter Edition at those sizes, then AR3 will be fine.
    Nothing is easy to the unwilling.