ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Painting at different zoom levels

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    87

    Painting at different zoom levels

    Hi,

    If I have a 5000 x 5000 canvas and zoom all the way out, then draw a curve with the pen tool (for example), when I zoom back to 100%, will the line still be smooth or can I expect some 'stepping' where AR has interpolated my arc sample points?

    I guess the real question is: Do I lose quality / fidelity working at a zoom of less than 100%?


    Cheers!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,096
    I just tried this to confirm... the strokes made while at 100% zoom and 500% zoom look the same when switching between the two zoom levels -- to me anyway.

    Try this in the free version if you don't have the full version.

    D.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Posts
    3,839
    ArtRage does some time-based interpolation. If you draw your circle quickly, it'll be smooth. But if you draw slowly, ArtRage assumes you want the precision of each point, so you'll end up with a 'blocky' curve.
    AndyRage's mantra for graphics engine code:
    "Sure - how hard can it be?"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,096
    Andy, does AR's behavior change when using different zoom levels - which I think is what the original poster was concerned about?

    Thanks,
    D.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,896
    Andy,
    Does this time based interpolation apply across the whole program?
    When I just throw a landscape together with the Tube and a Drybrush, as against carefully postioning stuff, it always looks smoother.
    Is that chance or design?

    Coming back to the original point. How is speed judged?
    If I use a big canvas, but then zoom out and use big tools, what is the measurement based on? Pixels per time unit?
    Luck is infatuated with the efficient.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Posts
    3,839
    drzellar - it can change based on the zoom level if you're painting slowly. Especially with a mouse where we can do sub-pixel accuracy.
    If you're zoomed out to 25%, you have only one in four pixel locations on the screen compared to canvas coordinates. So if you draw slowly, as your mouse passes from one pixel coordinate to the next, you are popping across four canvas pixel coordinates instantly. So a circle will have 'steps' of four-pixel spacing. If you draw fast, ArtRage just smoothly interpolates using splines so the steps dont appear.

    AgedP, the time is kinda complex - not a pixel-per time measurememt. There are several filters in place to ensure we get good consistent meaningful input data.
    AndyRage's mantra for graphics engine code:
    "Sure - how hard can it be?"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    87
    Cheers, that answered my question.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Posts
    3,839
    Of course the reverse is true as well. If you zoom in, you're able to do sub-pixel accurate placement of things.
    AndyRage's mantra for graphics engine code:
    "Sure - how hard can it be?"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •