Thread: First shot at painting

Gallery
    View images

First shot at painting

Hey everyone this is my very first attempt at painting ever. For years I have loved fantasy art, Frazzeta, Vallejo, Jusko, and have always wanted to try it myself but my inability to draw has always kept me from pursuing it. So flash forward to last nite, a download of artrage and a day off from work as produced this.

I'm not sure what to think of this so far, if I'm heading in the right direction or just making a mess? What can you guys say about what I have done thus far
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	conan_201.jpg 
Views:	232 
Size:	89.3 KB 
ID:	12722  

Gallery
    View images
    Looks like all those years of sitting on the sidelines and observing have served you well. This is pretty impressive! Keep going for definate sure and welcome to here.

Looking good so far, keep going. Cant wait to see more.
    Very Happy Owner of ArtRage Studio Pro!

Gallery
    View images
    The drawing is amazing. Might want to try to keep the chiseled quality in the color and strokes as well.

Cheers!

Gallery
    View images
    Thank you guys, I have been racking my brain as to how I came across the image, I am a Conan fanatic and have a hard drive full of conan images.

I did a little more work on him today, started using the airbrush tool. Airbrush is another thing I have always wanted to get into its nice to experiment lol.

I agree with you D Akey, but I am having trouble getting that chisled defined muscular look. I am going to google image some bodybuilders and study the muscular definition. Something tells me painting a basically nude muscular figure wasn't exactly the wisest move as a first painting, but I'm having a blast!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	conan_196.jpg 
Views:	178 
Size:	88.2 KB 
ID:	12746  

Gallery
    View images