ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Mix Palettes

Gallery
    View images

Mix Palettes

Hi everyone,

Only just discovered AR, so I'm new to it. But I was impressed with the stencil feature which gave me some ideas regarding colour.

I get overwhelmed when I'm looking at colour pickers and really I don't like to use them when picking up colours for a painting, too many choices and distracting. I tend to work with restricted palettes because I find that I learn more from colour, what I can do.

What follows is really an exploration of limited 5 colour palette. I used an art vector package called Intaglio (does basic CAD also) to create the mix palette, then converted it into an AR stencil. I'm working on mix palette designs for 2 3 4 5 6 7 mix colours and to include accent/incidental colours as well.

I get a lot out of colour exploration and I get enjoyment out of it, discovering new colours. After I've done the mix using a stencil, I then use the palette as a reference image in AR and pickup the colours from there.

I found the best way for me was to work up the mix using an oil brush, but then to knife the circles and ovals prior to further sampling as this reduces tonal differences. Basically, oils + knife.

Tell me what you think. I can upload the mix palette stencils to my gallery as I complete them. 6 and 7 colour mix palettes are complex, but 5 is quite an easy design.
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    AR 2.5 Full Ed, Wacom Graphire Bluetooth A5 (Buggy!), MacBook Pro 15"

Gallery
    View images
    Hi FurrTrap,