Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Alan Rickman - First ArtRage

Gallery
    View images

Alan Rickman - First ArtRage

Hi everyone!

I'm new to ArtRage and this forum - in fact, I'm new to digital painting!

I'm a very traditional artist, who has finally come around to seeing computers as an acceptable way to create art. I fought it for a long time, but that's a whole other debate!

This is my first digital portrait. It was a challenge, using tools I'm so unfamiliar with and yet familiar with at the same time! But I always did enjoy a challenge, so I WILL be doing more!

Critique please!

Many thanx,
    Helen
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Gallery
    View images
    Fine actor.

If you want a critique on the likeness, the original photo would be helpful.

Gallery
    View images
    I really want critique on the technical/tips aspect, thanx!

I don't like art to be a 'spot the difference' kind of thing.

I'm more interested in - are my values OK? And colours? Is anything too disturbing or distracting to the eye? Could I have used the ArtRage tools in a different way, to suit the subject better, for example? Stuff like that...

:!: But, of course, you can say whatever you like as well!

Helen

Gallery
    View images
    First of all the portrait is wonderful and concentrates very well on the parts enhancing the cogitative pose (I suppose he's the one who played also a Harry Potter professor). The tones (greys) are OK as well, so are the colours considering that apparently You used only one layer or You did not use layers extensively for transparent glazes as in ancient times, nor did You use a more extreme impressionistic technique. There's only a colour area that, in my view, is slightly to red, in the centre left of the front.
    So the only technical significant improvement, certainly allowed by ArtRage tools, would be perhaps on the skin texture perception which might be expected in such a near field portrait. (to be perfectionist)