ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: 2.5: Some widgy comments and suggestions.

2.5: Some widgy comments and suggestions.

Hey guys ... Started using 2.5 to do some rough thumbnail sketches for a client, and overall I love the new tools and interfaces. Great work! A few comments after just the first couple hours of use, though:

1) The layer transformations are useful but run awful slow on my dual-G4-1.25Ghz, 2GB RAM machine. (Was working on a small 300dpi canvas, about 2000 pixels wide.) When rotating or even just moving a layer, I had to constantly wait several seconds for the transformation to 'catch up' to my stylus, then try to move the stylus again to get the right position. I'm not a programmer, so I dunno how hard it'll be to fix or optimize this, but it is a bit of a drag.

2) Minor note, and I don't know if this is new in 2.5, but I notice that when I export to a jpg, even though the filename I type in the dialog box uses lowercase "filename.jpg," the actual filename in the Finder comes across with an uppercase extension, "filename.JPG." Not the end of the world as far as I can tell, but a bit of an odd inconsistancy ... both within the user interface, and also considering few other apps create uppercase extensions anymore.