Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Fixed the Alphabet stencil (SE)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    275

    Fixed the Alphabet stencil (SE)

    It was broken.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	lettersse_615.png 
Views:	1082 
Size:	64.4 KB 
ID:	8673  


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    3,842
    Heh. Thanks for that, ÄlveKatt.
    AndyRage's mantra for graphics engine code:
    "Sure - how hard can it be?"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Tiffin, OH USA
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    8,530
    HAHAHAHA! Good one Katt!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    275


    I just realized that it's mindboggingly simple to make a new alphabet stencil. Just go into your wordprocessor, chooze your font and a bigass fontsize. Write all the letters, punctuationmarks, etc. that you want. Make a screendump with the print screen button on your keyboard and paste it into your editing program of choice. You basically just need a crop tool and the ability to save as .png. So I figure you don't really need anything more advanced than IrfanView to make an alphabet stencil, just leave some lines and spaces clear at the edges of the paper in your wordprocessor and you have the makings of a relly usefull alphabet stencil.

    Edit: A really high screen resolution is handy too, or you might need to use a program that allows for layer editing. Alternatively you can split your alphabet to two stencils.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	lithosproregular_751.png 
Views:	455 
Size:	34.2 KB 
ID:	8685  


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    275
    Guh. I realized something in the shower, and now I feel kind of stupid. Why did I spend ten minutes doing an alphabet stencil when I could have spent one minute doing it just as well using the text tool in the graphics program...

    In fact, it's so quick and easy so why bother with alphabet stencils? Just write the text you want in your image and save it as PNG. Voila. Instant text tool for Artrage...

    You can even do it in MS Paint...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    3,842
    It's even easier, as ArtRage supports cut'n'paste.
    If you need some text, open your other application, draw the text, copy all, paste into ArtRage. You can quickly swap between ArtRage and the other application like that.
    AndyRage's mantra for graphics engine code:
    "Sure - how hard can it be?"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Auckland New Zealand
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    672
    Quote Originally Posted by AndyRage
    It's even easier, as ArtRage supports cut'n'paste.
    If you need some text, open your other application, draw the text, copy all, paste into ArtRage. You can quickly swap between ArtRage and the other application like that.
    Hey Andy i did that just after beta 1 came out, when i saw your letters i tryed my own
    Graham Fisher
    Email: Home cripster99@gmail.com

    Homepage: artwheel.org

    Mobile: 021-029-75930

    Artrage 2.6
    Artrage 3.5
    Artrage 4.04

    Wacom Graphire 6x8 Bluetooth
    Win7
    4GB 64bit
    sp2

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    218
    There absolutely IS a need for full alphabet stencils....

    When you want them to look handtooled, but don't want to spend the four or so hours it takes to handtool a real font, it helps to invest that full four hours up front in one go.

    You can take a look at one I've just added to the resources section...

    http://www2.ambientdesign.com/forums...pic.php?t=8736

    It's Clarendon Condensed, but in the 'Roy Blumenthal' look and feel.

    When I'm hard and fast at work, I actually don't have the machine resources to have Corel or IrfanView open at the same time. I CAN'T just flick between programs. I want everything in ArtRage. And the stencil tool works perfectly for that.

    It also gives me the ability to resize individual letters to add to the 'by hand' feel.

    Here's an example of a piece I did using this technique:



    Thanks for opening the method up.

    Blue skies
    love
    Roy
    ROY BLUMENTHAL

    Visual Facilitator: http://royblumenthal.com/portfolio

    ArtRage 3.5.5 and 4.0.4 on:
    Fujitsu T901, Asus R1E

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •