ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: manga screentones and duplicating layers

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    20

    manga screentones and duplicating layers

    I would love the ability to apply a manga screentone to a layer and then scrape off the parts that i don't want to keep like you can do when making real manga.

    I know you plan to make layers moveable in 2.5. Maybe in 2.6 the layers can also be duplicated. imagine drawing a tree on a layer and instead of drawing the entire forest by hand you duplicate the one tree layer and place them around to make the forest.

    These two features would give me even less reason to crack open other programs to finish stuff. Especially the second feature.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    28
    You can already duplicate layers:

    Just right click on the layer you want to duplicate in the layer box.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Unless otherwise specified, all images I post are released under Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    20
    thanks. i never noticed that before. now all we need are those manga screentones.

  4. I second the manga screentones thing!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    20
    i wanted to add that if not manga screentones then at least oekaki tones.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    3,842
    What do you actually mean by that with the screen tones?
    AndyRage's mantra for graphics engine code:
    "Sure - how hard can it be?"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    241
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Screentone

    Screentones are pre-made self-adhesive shading patterns. They are not specific to manga, it's just that mangakas are ones of the last illustrators who use them extensively.

    I think that an ability to fill a layer with pattern / import an image into a layer would emulate screentones quite well: just use a file with particular contents. Maybe with some adjustment to paint thickness, but that's not a real requirement.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    3,842
    Oh, I see.
    Well in that case... ArtRage 2.5 will have something that will definitely help with that...
    More information comin' atcher soon!
    AndyRage's mantra for graphics engine code:
    "Sure - how hard can it be?"

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    UK
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    186
    You can use the stencil feature in the new ArtRage 2.5 release.

    Some of the screentones can be downloaded here as GIF and JPEG files:
    http://psychobob.xepher.net/screentonez/

    and here

    s c r e e n t o n e d e p o t (tifs)
    [/url]http://www.ashuramanga.com/tone.htmhttp://<br /> <br /> Tip: &#91;For Win...<br /> <br />
    Charlie

    ArtRage for Art | EnergyXT2 for Music | Blender for 3D

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    20
    thanks Charlie that's some really good stuff.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •