ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: any help with water please?

Gallery
    View images

any help with water please?

Hi! I can't paint real looking water. Or at least I'm not good at it. Can anyone give me advise or some help? Thanks by advance!
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Tu Long

Gallery
    View images
    Hi Wikash,

There's a thread about this. Maybe you can check it out.

http://www2.ambientdesign.com/forums...pic.php?t=4314

Or visit the tutorial central, there're lots of nice demonstrations.

http://www2.ambientdesign.com/forums...pic.php?t=3767

Hope they help and keep have fun with AR.

Gallery
    View images
    Thank you! I'm going to take a look now.
    Tu Long

Gallery
    View images
    Allright, here's another try. This time I menaged to make it more like how I paint with real paint. But it's still not good..
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	sea2_622.jpg 
Views:	160 
Size:	97.4 KB 
ID:	7811  
    Tu Long

Gallery
    View images
    Short answer: Don't use single green color.

Long answer: Go out and actually *look* at the water. You will find that open water, like the sea, has at least three colors.

One, usually green, brown, or whatever, depending on the murkiness of the water, depth, and color of the bottom, where you can see the water itself.

Another color is in the reflection of the sky. That depends on the color of the sky, of course; on a clear day it is bluish. On wavy water this forms crisp patterns. It is more pronounced when the sun is behind you than when it is before you. The smaller the angle of sight, the more reflective the water is; you see almost no reflection under your feet, you see 100% reflection at the horizon (but not at sea, where small waves always make some proper color seen).