ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Really basic painting process question.

Really basic painting process question.

Hi, there,

Let me just say if it wasn't for ArtRage, I may have abandoned color work altogether. I am a self-taught artist and have traditional drawing ability that has been considered praiseworthy.

However, on my first attempt at traditional (acrylic) painting, the results were so bad that, well, I kind of gave up on it (okay, not "kind of"), not wanting to go through that experience again. Or at least creating a hundred lousy paintings (if you could call them that) and spending countless money on painting supplies. Considering my drawing skills were "quite alright" this only added to my frustration.

So I kind of resigned myself to *not* creating anything with color.

Enter ArtRage.

I bought the program only after going through this forum and noticing the help and encouragement (and sometimes even professional work) throughout. Obviously having a program, you don't waste money on art supplies due to "experimentation". (Quotes intentional.)

So, now that I am getting both my inspiration and courage to do work in color back, I can't help but wonder if someone here would kindly share a few general guidelines (or heck, even specific steps) on basic (ArtRage) painting process.

For instance, here are my concerns:

* Do you only (generally) work on one layer? If so, how do you keep things from blending by "accident". (Same tone to quotes as above.) I haven't used the program much yet, so this may just be obvious.

* Do you do an entire drawing first and then fill in the areas with your color choices, kind of like a paint by number? Or do the entire background first and work your way "forward"?