Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: ARVitae iOS & Real Colour Blending?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2,240

    ARVitae iOS & Real Colour Blending?

    ARVitae iOS is supposed to have 'Real Colour Blending' now but if you put down two blobs of colour, Blue & Yellow, then mix them with the Knife tool do you get green? I just get shades of grey!
    Do the same, but only mix with the brush, and I do get green.
    Iím thinking something here is maybe brokenÖ
    Iím trying this on an iPhone SE(2ndGen) running iOS 17.0.3
    Maker Of Replica Macoys

    Techie Stuff:
    ArtRage Vitae 7.1.4 ~ 15" Macbook Pro
    ~ macOS 10.15.7 ~ 4 Core i7 3.1GHz CPU ~ 16GB RAM ~ Wacom Intuos4 M
    My Animal Paintings In The Forum Gallery
    On Instagram

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,405
    I get green with both tools on a desktop. Duh! didn't read iOS.
    June.

    Oh God of homeless things, look down
    And try to ease the way
    Of all the little weary paws
    That walk the world
    today.
    -
    Unknown.

    http://enug66.deviantart.com/gallery/

    [My setup: hp 15in laptop,11th Gen Intel Core i7-1165G7 @ 2.80GHz 2.70 GHz, 8.00 GB RAM, 24in Acer 2nd monitor, Huion Kamvas 20 Pro display tablet, Windows 11, ArtRage Vitae.
    My painting real-estate is extended across three monitors.]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2,240
    No worries June, the fact that it works for you on Android I think still confirms that it is actually a bug, all be it one only affecting the iOS version
    Maker Of Replica Macoys

    Techie Stuff:
    ArtRage Vitae 7.1.4 ~ 15" Macbook Pro
    ~ macOS 10.15.7 ~ 4 Core i7 3.1GHz CPU ~ 16GB RAM ~ Wacom Intuos4 M
    My Animal Paintings In The Forum Gallery
    On Instagram

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    673
    Are you sure you have it on?

    Click the small wedge of color in the very bottom-right to check.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2,240
    Quote Originally Posted by DarkOwnt View Post
    Are you sure you have it on?
    Click the small wedge of color in the very bottom-right to check.
    Yes, it’s “On” and brushes of different colours will blend to their appropriate colours as they pass through and interact with each other.
    But when using the Knife blenders I just get greys.
    Are you using iOS too? and is it working for you? If so what iOS Apple device are you using?
    Maker Of Replica Macoys

    Techie Stuff:
    ArtRage Vitae 7.1.4 ~ 15" Macbook Pro
    ~ macOS 10.15.7 ~ 4 Core i7 3.1GHz CPU ~ 16GB RAM ~ Wacom Intuos4 M
    My Animal Paintings In The Forum Gallery
    On Instagram

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    673
    Quote Originally Posted by markw View Post
    Yes, it’s “On” and brushes of different colours will blend to their appropriate colours as they pass through and interact with each other.
    But when using the Knife blenders I just get greys.
    Are you using iOS too? and is it working for you? If so what iOS Apple device are you using?
    Ipad pro IOS 17... note: palette knife on "Edge" or "flat" blenders do real color blending for me, but "wet" "blur" and "soft" blenders so a straight digital average blend (more like a grey). Maybe you are using different kinds of palette knives in Android versus IOS?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2,240
    Thanks for the extra info there DarkOwnt
    I feel a bug report coming on I thinkÖ
    Yes, think Iíll drop Ambient a line in case they donít see this thread.
    Maker Of Replica Macoys

    Techie Stuff:
    ArtRage Vitae 7.1.4 ~ 15" Macbook Pro
    ~ macOS 10.15.7 ~ 4 Core i7 3.1GHz CPU ~ 16GB RAM ~ Wacom Intuos4 M
    My Animal Paintings In The Forum Gallery
    On Instagram

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    673
    Ah...

    So it turns out that in the Desktop version of AR 6 and AR Vitae:

    ONLY the blur mode of the palette knife is pure digital averaging (as blurring should work) whereas all other modes incorporate real blending when on.


    So yes, looks like a bug.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Aotearoa/New Zealand
    Posts
    365
    Hi Mark

    Yes I do get green but *only* with 'hard out smudge' and 'just blend colour'; the rest give shades of grey.

    FYI I just checked with my desktop version (7.1.4 - 64bit) on Sonoma 14.0 and all the knives blend to one degree or another.

    Can I actually "turn on" real colour blending in iOS? If so, how?

    brett
    Last edited by Perendale; 10-24-2023 at 12:42 PM.
    "You do not suffer because things are impermanent. You suffer because things are impermanent and you think they are permanent." ~ Thich Nhat Hanh

    Tech stuff: 24" iMac M1: Wacom Intuos Pro L: iPad Pro 12.9"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2,240
    Yes, you can turn 'Real Colour Blending' on by long pressing the current selected colour in the bottom right corner of the screen.
    A small submenu will open where you can select it.
    When active it’s name in the submenu will have a tick mark next to it.
    Maker Of Replica Macoys

    Techie Stuff:
    ArtRage Vitae 7.1.4 ~ 15" Macbook Pro
    ~ macOS 10.15.7 ~ 4 Core i7 3.1GHz CPU ~ 16GB RAM ~ Wacom Intuos4 M
    My Animal Paintings In The Forum Gallery
    On Instagram

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •