Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Where do deleted files go?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    5

    Where do deleted files go?

    I need to make more storage room on my iPad, so am deleting a lot of old paintings from the gallery.
    Are these permanently removed from the iPad? Or do they linger somewhere still taking up space?
    I really want to remove them permanently and not have them cached somewhere.
    Any tips for clean removal of unwanted paintings?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2,231
    Strictly speaking deleted files don’t go anywhere.
    What happens after deleting a file is that the “space” it occupied is now marked by the system as free for other things to be written there.
    So they are there but not there taking up valuable space.
    Eventually the data blocks that made up the file/s will be overwritten with new data, maybe not all at once, but eventually all of the blocks of data that made up the deleted file/s will be used and then the file/s will be truly gone.
    Maker Of Replica Macoys

    Techie Stuff:
    ArtRage Vitae 7.1.4 ~ 15" Macbook Pro
    ~ macOS 10.15.7 ~ 4 Core i7 3.1GHz CPU ~ 16GB RAM ~ Wacom Intuos4 M
    My Animal Paintings In The Forum Gallery
    On Instagram

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    5
    Thanks, Mark, for that prompt and clear explanation. It is a great help.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •