Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: need help changing a setting that will not allow free hand painting

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Posts
    4

    need help changing a setting that will not allow free hand painting

    I am unable to use the free hand brush when painting within a selection. It will only allow the brush move in parallel strokes along the same plane.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,397
    Hello StaceVo. I haven't heard before of this problem. Could you give us a little more information like whether you are using a desktop or mobile version of ArtRage. Also, can you include an image of what you are experiencing and which brush/es you are using when painting inside a selection?
    June.

    Oh God of homeless things, look down
    And try to ease the way
    Of all the little weary paws
    That walk the world
    today.
    -
    Unknown.

    http://enug66.deviantart.com/gallery/

    [My setup: hp 15in laptop,11th Gen Intel Core i7-1165G7 @ 2.80GHz 2.70 GHz, 8.00 GB RAM, 24in Acer 2nd monitor, Huion Kamvas 20 Pro display tablet, Windows 11, ArtRage Vitae.
    My painting real-estate is extended across three monitors.]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Posts
    4

    I used ArtRage vitae on desktop with an eyegaze input

    I am paralyzed so I use an eyegaze input device that allows me to paint with my eyes.

    in the video, the icons on the screen allow me to move objects, select colors and tools, and paint.
    you will see me select the oil and watercolor brush and attempt to paint with them four times. Each time I try, I can only make strokes back and forth in the same direction I started with as f it's on a rail or guide.

    I'm not allowed to directly post a link to the video because I'm so new. But if you close the spaces in this url, you can see it here. https ://yo utu.be/jeVNnZQ1yjk
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.jpg 
Views:	75 
Size:	117.7 KB 
ID:	102867  
    Last edited by StaceVo; 01-29-2023 at 02:09 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Russia. Novokhopersk
    Posts
    69

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,397
    Thanks for the additional information StaceVo. I think you will receive the help you need if you contact Ambient Design about it via the Support page here: https://www.artrage.com/get-support/ Or directly via email here: [email protected]
    June.

    Oh God of homeless things, look down
    And try to ease the way
    Of all the little weary paws
    That walk the world
    today.
    -
    Unknown.

    http://enug66.deviantart.com/gallery/

    [My setup: hp 15in laptop,11th Gen Intel Core i7-1165G7 @ 2.80GHz 2.70 GHz, 8.00 GB RAM, 24in Acer 2nd monitor, Huion Kamvas 20 Pro display tablet, Windows 11, ArtRage Vitae.
    My painting real-estate is extended across three monitors.]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2,209
    Hello StaceVo and welcome to the ArtRage forums
    Well, my first thoughts are whether you have an active but “hidden” Perspective Grid on in the background, with either Snap to Perspective and/or Stroke Direction turned On? These could potentially cause what you are seeing.
    Click the 'Layout' icon in the Menubar and in the fly-out window click the top right hand icon to see the 'Perspective Grid' settings.
    Let us know if this is the cause or not.
    Name:  ARVPerspectiveSnapping.png
Views: 180
Size:  251.9 KB
    Maker Of Replica Macoys

    Techie Stuff:
    ArtRage Vitae 7.1.4 ~ 15" Macbook Pro
    ~ macOS 10.15.7 ~ 4 Core i7 3.1GHz CPU ~ 16GB RAM ~ Wacom Intuos4 M
    My Animal Paintings In The Forum Gallery
    On Instagram

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •