Thread: New to ArtRage, need help please

New to ArtRage, need help please

Hi, I'm relatively new to ArtRage. I've got ArtRage Vitae bought at MS Store.

The problem is that I can't load neither Reference nor Tracing image. Every time I try to I get a popup window, saying You don't have permission to open this file.

The image is the photo from my phone sized down (to 1333x2000 pixels), and converted to png, stripped off all metadata and such. I am the owner of this image.
    Tried to launch ArtRage as admin, changed the name of the image file. No luck.
    What am I doing wrong here?

I searched the internet and this forum but couldn't find a similar topic much less a solution to it.

Thank you in advance!

Hello Septema4th and welcome to the forum. I haven't come across this problem either. Can I check on how you are loading the reference photo? While AR is open you drag the picture onto the canvas - a window opens asking how you want to load this file. Among the choices are Create a Reference image after you select that option you should be good to go. I assumed you were using the desktop version.

I hope this helps - if not someone else will probably have more ideas.
    June.

Oh God of homeless things, look down
    And try to ease the way
    Of all the little weary paws
    That walk the world
    today.
    -
    Unknown.

http://enug66.deviantart.com/gallery/

[My setup: hp 15in laptop,11th Gen Intel Core i7-1165G7 @ 2.80GHz 2.70 GHz, 8.00 GB RAM, 24in Acer 2nd monitor, Huion Kamvas 20 Pro display tablet, Windows 11, ArtRage Vitae.
    My painting real-estate is extended across three monitors.]

Hello Enug.

Thank you for finding time to reply.
    I've tried all possible ways to load reference images whether it's drag'n'drop, through the menu or using shortcut keys.

The problem seems deeper now that I can't open even my existing paintings with reference or traced images.