Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Gaussian Blur?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    233

    Gaussian Blur?

    How to add a Gaussian Blur to a layer?
    Sorry for my bad English (I never had English education)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,013
    Is this what you are looking for? Edit/Filters/Blur Layer.
    June.

    Oh God of homeless things, look down
    And try to ease the way
    Of all the little weary paws
    That walk the world
    today.
    -
    Unknown.

    http://enug66.deviantart.com/gallery/

    [My setup: hp 15in laptop, 24in acer 2nd monitor, Huion QK11 wireless drawing tablet, Windows 11, ArtRage Vitae.]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    233
    Thank you for your reply, but what I am looking for is something like the photoshop Gaussian Blur, so I don't have to switch program for that effect
    Sorry for my bad English (I never had English education)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1,810
    Hi JMMK,
    What specific functionality are you wanting that Photoshop’s Gaussian Blur gives you?

    If you are wanting to only blur specific areas on any given layer, you can select those areas first using the Selection tool before using the Blur filter.
    Another option for tackling specific areas of a layer might be to use the Palette Knife tool using the Blur tab found in it’s Settings panel.
    Maker Of Replica Macoys

    Techie Stuff:
    ArtRage Vitae 7.1.4 ~ 15" Macbook Pro
    ~ macOS 10.15.7 ~ 4 Core i7 3.1GHz CPU ~ 16GB RAM ~ Wacom Intuos4 M
    Instagram

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    233
    Found a Filter that works for me.
    Filter: Redfield - Sketch - Photocopy...
    Thank you Enug and markw, for thinking along
    Last edited by JMMK; 01-05-2022 at 01:39 AM.
    Sorry for my bad English (I never had English education)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    178
    Quote Originally Posted by JMMK View Post
    How to add a Gaussian Blur to a layer?
    "gaussian blur" in photoshop and the "blur" function in artrage are very similar - they both produce softened picture effect with a radius adjusted by you to tweak the blur strength.

    photoshop has more interesting advanced blur features, i.e. camera blur and some other ones produced by 3rd party developers, that will need to be added to artrage as separate plug-ins.

    I'm glad you've found a solution that works for your needs anyway.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    233
    Thank you for the reply.

    I started all over and used some tips from you all , and it works fine now.

    The main error was I mist a step in the process, but with the tips it is now an even better painting result
    Sorry for my bad English (I never had English education)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •