Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Color sampler inaccurate

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Posts
    2

    Color sampler inaccurate

    Hello,

    I'm having trouble with the color picker. As you can see in the video, it sometimes sets the wrong color when I select a pixel on the canvas, but it's fine if I pick it from a reference image. This happens with any tool and on the normal blending mode.



    What's going on?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Posts
    10
    You need the help of a professional, I don't know much about it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Location
    Norman, Oklahoma USA
    Posts
    13
    I'm wondering if it has to do with canvas lighting. In order to simulate a canvas texture certain parts are darker or lighter than the actual pigment on it. Maybe turn off canvas lighting in the options and try it again.
    Gateway Creator Series Laptop, Ryzen 5 4000 Series 8GB DDR4, Vitae + ArtRage 5, Huion Q11K/XP-PEN Artist 12

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Posts
    2
    That would make sense, but the problems stays when I change the canvas texture. I can also see that its value is uniform when I hide the layers.
    As for the canvas lighting option, it only seems to affect the 3D effect of brush strokes.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    233
    I have the same problem on my PC, maybe a program error?
    Last edited by JMMK; 12-12-2021 at 02:42 AM.
    Sorry for my bad English (I never had English education)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1,728
    Can’t say I’m seeing this behaviour in the current ARV 7.1.4 or AR6.
    There was a bug sampling in the early ARV release, now fixed, that was dependent on the size of canvas, small ones being the problem and if the sampling was from specific areas of the canvas, towards the bottom or right hand side. But as I say, now fixed.

    Can you give any more info, like exact steps to reproduce or an example file where the colour sampling is consistently incorrect?
    Also AR version and OS.

    With the “alt” key sampling method, it is dependent on what settings have been applied in the ‘Colour Sampler’ tool’s Settings panel.
    Make sure ‘With Lighting’ is turned Off, so it only picks the true colour.
    Maker Of Replica Macoys

    Techie Stuff:
    ArtRage Vitae 7.1.4 ~ 15" Macbook Pro
    ~ macOS 10.14.6 ~ 4 Core i7 3.1GHz CPU ~ 16GB RAM ~ Wacom Intuos4 M

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    233
    With the “alt” key sampling method, it is dependent on what settings have been applied in the ‘Colour Sampler’ tool’s Settings panel.
    Make sure ‘With Lighting’ is turned Off, so it only picks the true colour.
    Ihis method is giving the right colors
    Thank you markw
    Sorry for my bad English (I never had English education)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •