Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: exporting jpg file causes error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    England (North)
    Posts
    349

    exporting jpg file causes error

    Hi

    Exporting as a .jpg (rather than .jpeg) causes error.

    Name:  Screenshot 2021-09-02 at 10.21.49.png
Views: 52
Size:  60.0 KB
    The main thing is to keep the main thing the main thing!
    Mac mini (M1, 2020), macOS: Big Sur v11.6, ArtRage Vitae v7.1.3

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1,653
    Hi Jono,
    Did you by chance type in the extension .jpg in the Name field when exporting the painting?
    After selecting the desired export format at the bottom left of the export window (on Macs), the user doesn’t also need to add the file type to the name of the painting when exporting, as AR will automatically add the chosen file type extension itself. In this case it will add .jpeg.
    Maker Of Replica Macoys

    Techie Stuff:
    ArtRage Vitae 7.1.3 ~ 15" Macbook Pro
    ~ macOS 10.14.6 ~ 4 Core i7 3.1GHz CPU ~ 16GB RAM ~ Wacom Intuos4 M

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    England (North)
    Posts
    349
    Hi Mark

    No, what I did in this particular case was select an existing .jpg file to overwrite. The file was exported from Affinity Photo, which seems to favour .jpg over .jpeg.

    The following screenshots show the steps I took. Note, 4 shows the original .jpg file now 'contains' zero bytes.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	sequence.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	124.6 KB 
ID:	101930
    The main thing is to keep the main thing the main thing!
    Mac mini (M1, 2020), macOS: Big Sur v11.6, ArtRage Vitae v7.1.3

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1,653
    Humm…
    Thanks for the extra info but I’m still not sure of your steps…?
    Image 1 shows the Save name ends in .jpg? That is what is causing the problem on export.
    On opening an existing .jpg file with AR, it loads it without including the file’s original extension in the name.
    The only way I can have it appear in the export name, as in your image 1, is to type it in. Which of course then leads to the error you experienced.
    In short the Save name can not end in a dot file type extension.

    As far as the difference between .jpg or .jpeg goes, it is just the name, internally they are the same.
    Why some apps favour one extension name over the other I guess just depends on the developer.
    Last edited by markw; 09-03-2021 at 11:21 AM.
    Maker Of Replica Macoys

    Techie Stuff:
    ArtRage Vitae 7.1.3 ~ 15" Macbook Pro
    ~ macOS 10.14.6 ~ 4 Core i7 3.1GHz CPU ~ 16GB RAM ~ Wacom Intuos4 M

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    England (North)
    Posts
    349
    Hi Mark

    To export/save as a .jpg without typing the .jpg extension in step 1, I’m clicking the existing .jpg file icon (jpg-save-test.jpg) which then automatically adds the file name and .jpg extension to the ‘Save As:’ field.

    If I change (type in) the extra 'e' to make the file extension .jpeg it does save without error.

    I'm sure there's a reason, but it seems daft to have two file extensions for the same file type.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2021-09-03 at 09.24.56.png 
Views:	10 
Size:	110.3 KB 
ID:	101931
    The main thing is to keep the main thing the main thing!
    Mac mini (M1, 2020), macOS: Big Sur v11.6, ArtRage Vitae v7.1.3

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1,653
    Interesting… You may well have found a bug here Jono relating to to your specific macOS.
    Following your clarification of step 1, for me on Mojave, clicking on an existing image file to use it’s name, the name is always added to the Save name filed without the original file extension being included.
    So I think what is happening for you is a bug.

    Again, regarding .jpg or .jpeg you can also sometimes find it in a third form as; .JPEG, all caps.
    Maker Of Replica Macoys

    Techie Stuff:
    ArtRage Vitae 7.1.3 ~ 15" Macbook Pro
    ~ macOS 10.14.6 ~ 4 Core i7 3.1GHz CPU ~ 16GB RAM ~ Wacom Intuos4 M

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •