Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Color Picker doesn't work in small canvas sizes

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    156
    Hi Varg!
    Have you tried it with a smaller "Expand Area"? This is the setting that defines how many pixels range the colour picking includes. You can see that the outline-curser (2) gets smaller if you decrease the range. At least on ArtRage 6.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1,643
    Hi Varg,
    A new update, ARV 7.1.2, is now available. Hopefully it will fix the problem for you
    Maker Of Replica Macoys

    Techie Stuff:
    ArtRage Vitae 7.1.3 ~ 15" Macbook Pro
    ~ macOS 10.14.6 ~ 4 Core i7 3.1GHz CPU ~ 16GB RAM ~ Wacom Intuos4 M

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1,643
    OK, so yes, it is working for me, mostly...
    So far I’ve not had any issues with my own canvases but I’m generally working at 3000+ pxels, so will try some smaller sub 2000px canvases.
    But I do think there is still some problem with the default canvas that AR generates on opening…
    No time now but will experiment more later today if I can, but my initial impression was that it worked on the left side of the default canvas but not the right, even after resizing it. Not sure… More poking and prodding definitely needed...
    Maker Of Replica Macoys

    Techie Stuff:
    ArtRage Vitae 7.1.3 ~ 15" Macbook Pro
    ~ macOS 10.14.6 ~ 4 Core i7 3.1GHz CPU ~ 16GB RAM ~ Wacom Intuos4 M

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Posts
    3,935
    Aha! Thank you for the additional information. I'll do more testing here. I wasn't able to replicate the bug so I couldn't get a fix in for the first patch. But there there will be another update out soon. The highest priority was three crash bugs we had reported so I had to get the patch out as quickly as possible.
    AndyRage's mantra for graphics engine code:
    "Sure - how hard can it be?"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1,643
    I’ve experimented a bit more with this;
    The attached shows a new small canvas I made and the red shows the area that colour can not be sampled from.
    This “dead zone” seems to expand or contract as the canvas is zoomed.
    Zoom out far enough and all the canvas can be sampled.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2021-08-12 at 23.03.31.png 
Views:	15 
Size:	462.1 KB 
ID:	101869
    Maker Of Replica Macoys

    Techie Stuff:
    ArtRage Vitae 7.1.3 ~ 15" Macbook Pro
    ~ macOS 10.14.6 ~ 4 Core i7 3.1GHz CPU ~ 16GB RAM ~ Wacom Intuos4 M

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Santa Fe, New Mexico
    Posts
    88
    The 7.1.2 version had not fixed this bug, either.
    Eden
    You can't outsource your soul work.
    www.edensart.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    83

    Unhappy Confirmed

    I've the same issue, small document no colour picker.

    Also if I change the Resize Painting using the A4 Portrait preset it won't save.

    Been in the App less than 5 minutes and encounter 2 game stopping bugs.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    151
    Quote Originally Posted by AndyRage View Post
    Aha! Thank you for the additional information. I'll do more testing here. I wasn't able to replicate the bug so I couldn't get a fix in for the first patch. But there there will be another update out soon. The highest priority was three crash bugs we had reported so I had to get the patch out as quickly as possible.
    hi Andy,

    I don't know how to tag users on this board, and I didn't want to use the report function, so I'll post this here.


    could you please take a look at the color mixing issue Varg is reporting in the techniques forum? it looks like a bug to me.

    I would also appreciate if you moved their thread to the support subforum to avoid further confusion.

    thanks!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Posts
    3,935
    Quote Originally Posted by kaveman View Post
    I've the same issue, small document no colour picker.

    Also if I change the Resize Painting using the A4 Portrait preset it won't save.

    Been in the App less than 5 minutes and encounter 2 game stopping bugs.
    Can you tell me what canvas size you started with? It'll help me reproduce the bug here.
    Cheers
    AndyRage's mantra for graphics engine code:
    "Sure - how hard can it be?"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •