Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: How do I do a complete UI / Settings reset on ArtRage 6?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    2

    How do I do a complete UI / Settings reset on ArtRage 6?

    Hello All:

    a friend of my used my computer and completely messed up my preferred settings in ArtRage 6
    How can I reset the UI and Settings to their factory defaults, short of uninstalling and reinstalling the Program
    is it even Possible.

    Thanks
    Erik

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,799
    Hello and welcome Erik.
    Does this help?

    Name:  new.JPG
Views: 75
Size:  24.1 KB



    Name:  Screenshot (58).jpg
Views: 73
Size:  21.9 KB
    Last edited by Enug; 12-01-2020 at 01:36 PM.
    June.

    Oh God of homeless things, look down
    And try to ease the way
    Of all the little weary paws
    That walk the world
    today.
    -
    Unknown.

    http://enug66.deviantart.com/gallery/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1,506
    Hello Erik and welcome to the ArtRage forums
    In addition to Juneís suggestions, if you are using AR6, then the file that controls the UI appearance and layout of panels is called ArtRage6.prs.
    This file records the state of the UI as it is at the time AR is shutdown.
    On a Mac, as I am, then it can be found here: /Users/your name here/Library/Application Support/Ambient Design/ArtRage/ArtRage6.prs
    On Windows I believe it is stored in the following location: C:\Users\your name here\AppData\Roaming\Ambient Design\ArtRage\ArtRage6.prs
    But as I say Iím on a Mac so I canít check that path.
    If you delete the ArtRage6.prs file before starting AR, this will force AR to generate a new one as it starts, effectively resetting the UI to itís factory settings.

    If you keep regular system backups then an alternative is to retrieve a copy of this .prs file from before your friend messed with the UI and replace the current one you have now with that and it will be as if your friend had never messed with the UI!
    Once you do have the UI as you like it then shutdown AR and make a copy of the .prs file and keep it someplace safe so should the need arise again you can quickly get the UI back to how you want it.
    Maker Of Replica Macoys

    Techie Stuff:
    ArtRage 6.1.1 ~ 15" Macbook Pro
    ~ macOS 10.14.6 ~ 4 Core i7 3.1GHz CPU ~ 16GB RAM ~ Wacom Intuos4 M

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by markw View Post
    Hello Erik and welcome to the ArtRage forums
    In addition to Juneís suggestions, if you are using AR6, then the file that controls the UI appearance and layout of panels is called ArtRage6.prs.
    This file records the state of the UI as it is at the time AR is shutdown.
    On a Mac, as I am, then it can be found here: /Users/your name here/Library/Application Support/Ambient Design/ArtRage/ArtRage6.prs
    On Windows I believe it is stored in the following location: C:\Users\your name here\AppData\Roaming\Ambient Design\ArtRage\ArtRage6.prs
    But as I say Iím on a Mac so I canít check that path.
    If you delete the ArtRage6.prs file before starting AR, this will force AR to generate a new one as it starts, effectively resetting the UI to itís factory settings.

    If you keep regular system backups then an alternative is to retrieve a copy of this .prs file from before your friend messed with the UI and replace the current one you have now with that and it will be as if your friend had never messed with the UI!
    Once you do have the UI as you like it then shutdown AR and make a copy of the .prs file and keep it someplace safe so should the need arise again you can quickly get the UI back to how you want it.
    Thank you Very Much that worked Like a Charm

    Erik

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •