Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Custom Artrage 6 brushes

  1. #1

    Custom Artrage 6 brushes

    Hi guys. I just got Artrage 6 and was playing around with the brushes... Here are a few oil painters for you!

    The loose texture brushes are very similar. play around with them to see the difference.\

    To get a good texture effect with the medium texture brushes and the heavy texture with blending brush, I recommend using short strokes.

    https://drive.google.com/drive/folde...6p?usp=sharing

    Sample - real color blending was off.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IG.jpeg 
Views:	92 
Size:	319.3 KB 
ID:	99578  
    Last edited by Confusionofconformity; 08-14-2020 at 04:14 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    126
    Hi Confusionofconformity!

    Nice Stuff! Have to test it a little more, but it looks verry useful. Thanx for it!

  3. #3
    no prob. some of the differences between them are subtle.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    11

    How to instal the brushes please ?

    Hi,

    Was expecting .abr files.
    How to instal the .prs files linked please ?

    Thank you.

    All the best

    Kris.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1,499
    Hello Kris and welcome to the ArtRage forums
    No, AR mostly uses itís own .prs format for brushes. It can use .abr brushes, though they need a bit of setting after installing. But thatís probably a topic for another time!
    With these Custom Brush presets, once you have unzipped the download you need to put the 2 folders; SLR Painters and SLR Texture Brushes into the Custom Brush presets folder in AR.
    To do this, launch AR6 and in the Menubar go to; Tools > Brows Content Folders > Tool PresetsÖ
    In the window that opens find the 'Custom Brush' folder and place the two new folders containing the presets in there.
    Now relaunch AR6 and the SLR brushes will be available from the Presets Panel when using the Custom Brush.
    Maker Of Replica Macoys

    Techie Stuff:
    ArtRage 6.1.1 ~ 15" Macbook Pro
    ~ macOS 10.14.6 ~ 4 Core i7 3.1GHz CPU ~ 16GB RAM ~ Wacom Intuos4 M

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    11

    thank you

    Quote Originally Posted by markw View Post
    Hello Kris and welcome to the ArtRage forums
    No, AR mostly uses itís own .prs format for brushes. It can use .abr brushes, though they need a bit of setting after installing. But thatís probably a topic for another time!
    With these Custom Brush presets, once you have unzipped the download you need to put the 2 folders; SLR Painters and SLR Texture Brushes into the Custom Brush presets folder in AR.
    To do this, launch AR6 and in the Menubar go to; Tools > Brows Content Folders > Tool PresetsÖ
    In the window that opens find the 'Custom Brush' folder and place the two new folders containing the presets in there.
    Now relaunch AR6 and the SLR brushes will be available from the Presets Panel when using the Custom Brush.
    Thank you for your answer.
    I wanted to write : expected .arpack files instead of .abr. Just tired sometime.
    it works.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    11
    Thank you very much.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Gdansk (Poland)
    Posts
    79

    Question just one queston

    @Confusionofconformity
    Thanx for interesting brushes!
    Just one question:
    What is "SLR old oil brush.prs copy" and where should I put it for proper use?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    126
    Hi Drayldan!

    I think that is a mistake. Should work if you only delete the " copy" (don't forget to delete even the space before "copy") and install the brush just like the others.

  10. #10

    sorry I didn't notice I had replies to this

    Thanks to everyone who answered peoples questions for me!

    Glad you guys like the brushes. In practical use, I wasn't as happy with the brushes personally but I find them very useful for adding additional texture towards the end of a painting.

    I will sometimes add a new layer that is just for texture. I set the layer to one of the transparent blend modes (multiply, darken, overlay, lighten, etc) and I paint over areas that I want more texture. soemtimes I play with other colors as well to add visual interest. You can play with the transparency of the layer to get either more or less of an effect. Here's an example where I used this effect with the native oil paints:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	69E1E079-5005-4D02-B5D5-7BC68D4BBF0F_1_105_c.jpeg 
Views:	8 
Size:	284.5 KB 
ID:	101529

    You could use a similar method with my texture brushes to add what looks like a thicker paint texture (to add both the highlights and the shadows in the texture of the brush, use overlay blend mode, and to only add shadows, use multiply/darken, and to only add highlights, use lighten modes). I believe I used color burn for this one because I wanted a more vibrant effect. (this painting was done in artrage 5 I believe).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •