Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Imported File Autosave?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Zagreb
    Posts
    19

    Imported File Autosave?

    Hi there friends, hope you're all having a nice day.

    I imported a PSD file and was painting on it for a while, then I closed the file without saving it first, there wasn't a prompt to save or anything so the file just closed.
    I'm not crying over the loss or anything but if anyone knows a way to potentially get that file back, I wouldn't complain about that either. ^^

    I checked under preferences, Advanced preferences, and store backup file is set to 0. I think I was in the mood to practice letting go when I set that, or something like that, haha.

    Anyway thanks for any input you might have on this one.
    Cheers!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Posts
    3,810
    That's definitely unexpected! If you import an image, paint then close that painting, you should always see a save prompt.

    Firstly, check that there is a ptg ( ArtRage painting file ) version that was saved. To save a PSD you'd need to specifically export as a PSD, so if you saved, you should have a painting file containing your work.

    Otherwise, can you try this again, import the same PSD file, add a stroke of paint, close the painting in the same way and let me know the result?

    Also, can you tell me which version of ArtRage you're using ( Help -> About ArtRage ) and the OS you're on?

    The backup save system works like this:

    To enable it, go to Edit -> Preferences -> Advanced then setting 'Store Backup Files' to a value higher than 0. This sets the number of copies to keep.

    This will then automatically create a .ptgback extension file of the previous version of your painting whenever you save.

    For example, if you saved 'mypainting.ptg' multiple times, you'd also have in the same folder 'mypainting_GenA.ptgback' 'mypainting_GenB.ptgback' and so on in the same folder, where GenA is always the previous version. In the event of a problem, loading one of these previous versions, then saving it again as a new painting should mean that the last save is protected.

    The backup save system being disabled doesn't prevent ArtRage from prompting to save when you close a painting, so that shouldn't have an affect on that.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Zagreb
    Posts
    19
    Hi Dave, thanks for taking the time to reply.

    It was all a misunderstanding as it turned out, somehow I pressed some hotkey or other and it switched to another document that was also open at the time, which looked like an earlier version of the file I was working on, so I got the mistaken impression that the file got closed. It didn't, it was safely tucked away.
    I'll be paying more attention next time!

    Cheers and have a good day.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Posts
    3,810
    No problem! Thanks for letting me know, glad to hear you didn't lose your work

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •