Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Crazy Big File Size

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3

    Crazy Big File Size

    Hey,

    I've been using AR for a little while but have recently added the ipad into the workflow (not sure if that's relevant). I had problems with ptg files growing too large so after sniffing round on the web I investigated creating the separate elements in their own files, merging the layers then bringing them together in in a base canvas.The canvas size is pretty small 1920x1080 and the elements are less that a 1/3 of that size.

    The individual files are maybe 5 Mb or 20Mb but when I add them, by using copy and paste from one ptg image to another the saved file size is over a Gb. This sounds crazy to me for a 3 layered image of this size.

    Is there something I'm doing wrong? I did want the print / canvas size to be larger originally but scaled back my ideas after repeated machine crashes due to crazy file sizes of several Gb.

    Any help or suggestions gratefully received. I'm using AR lite on a 2015 Macbook pro 8Gb.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    964
    Hello herewego and welcome to the ArtRage forums
    First I have to say right of the bat, I donít know why your files are coming in so big. Sorry!
    Secondly, thatís not a typical workflow thatís generally needed in AR in my experience.
    Iíve used AR for many years (I think a late v2 is the oldest version I have) and I typically work at around 3500x4900px. And maybe ending up with 20 or so layers sometimes.
    But my finished file sizes have, as far as I can recall, rarely gone much above 500MB or so.
    You should be able with your system to do the entire painting start to finish in the one file I would have thought.
    Hopefully someone from development will be able to chip in hereÖ
    Maker Of Replica Macoys

    Techie Stuff:
    ArtRage 5.0.8 ~ 15" Macbook Pro
    + 22" HD Monitor ~ macOS 10.13.6 ~ 4 Core i7 3.1GHz CPU ~ 16GB RAM ~ Wacom Intuos4 M and a Spyder4Pro (to keep the colours true!)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Posts
    3,633
    One thought: We found a bug in an older version of ArtRage Lite where resources were being duplicated many times, which might explain large file sizes. I'd recommend updating the to the latest version ( 5.0.7 ) via the member area if you're currently using an older version.

    If that doesn't help, or if you have any problems, please email me at support@artrage.com and we can do some troubleshooting with you.
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter / Technical Support
    Ambient Design

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3
    Thanks both. Have upgraded to latest version. I was a bit confused by the prompt to upgrade, I thought I had to move off the lite version but I'm on 5.07 so will give that a go.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3
    Thanks - yes it was totally this^^

    Saving a 2.3 Gb file now reduced to 5.5 Mb !!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Posts
    3,633
    Thanks for the feedback, that's great to hear! Sorry you had to put up with those large file sizes in the meantime.
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter / Technical Support
    Ambient Design

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •