Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Brush size (icon) on canvas

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    11

    Brush size (icon) on canvas

    Add the brush size icon when drawing on canvas. How it's done in the desktop version. It is very difficult to choose a size without seeing its size on canvas. Thanks

    Name:  01.png
Views: 122
Size:  90.4 KB
    Name:  02.png
Views: 112
Size:  50.3 KB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    11
    Also increase the maximum brush size to 500%, as in the desktop version.
    In general, the desktop version and the mobile version should have the same functionality. At this time, the mobile version is greatly simplified and this forces you to draw in Procreate

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    2,003
    We can't increase the tool size because the iPad Pro does not have the memory to support 500% brushes (we did increase the default sizes slightly just for the iPad Pro, but we could not make them much larger). ArtRage's brushes use a lot more memory than the brushes in Procreate, unfortunately, so they will probably always be able to reach larger sizes than us.

    The mobile version of the desktop program will never have the same overall functionality, because there are too many features that cannot be converted to mobile easily (either for coding reasons or because the hardware requirements are not there). ArtRage was originally a desktop program, and the only way to make them the same would be to cripple the desktop program.

    iPads do not have cursors, which is why there is no brush size icon (Outline cursor) when you draw in the app. On the desktop, ArtRage just changes the normal cursor into something else. This might be something we can add one day as it would be a useful feature, but it would still not work the same way as it does on the desktop.

    We do want to make the experience as consistent as possible though, and are still working on improving the iOS app further.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by HannahRage View Post
    iPads do not have cursors, which is why there is no brush size icon (Outline cursor) when you draw in the app.
    See Procreate, there is a brush size icon.
    Latest iPadPro by tests faster MacBook
    http://www.businessinsider.com/apple...ook-pro-2017-6

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    6
    I gotta say I find the Outline cursor is quite important. Especially erasing details. It would be awesome to have it on iPad version.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3,865
    I think with time and practice, you do get used to mentally marrying the sizes with what you need to get the job done.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •