Thread: ArtRage and Animation

ArtRage and Animation

I have been animating (as an amateur) now and then for many years. I started out using Deluxe Paint and TVpaint (both bitmaps raster format) on the Amiga platform many years ago. When I started using Windows PC the Macromedia Flash (vector) software was my main animating software. There has also been some stop motion and other programs along the way, to try out just by curiosity, to find out how to use some different techniques.
    Hand drawn, cut-out and tweening, warping, and all other stuff are soo amazing! I tred to learn and understand, that way I got more and more fascinated by the art of animation.

Finally, many years ago, I was hooked on Moho / Anime Studio. It is such a great program! But, and that is the big problem for me, I can't stand vectors. This program is vector. Hand drawn 2D is what I like. It is beautiful, really beautiful...if it is well done. Moho can import and use bitmaps, they can be animated inside Moho. I rather use all raster based animation program all the way. I have found one - for free.

I took one of my grandchildren to the cinema the other day. The film, Gordon and Paddy, was catching my heart and eyes. It was one hour hand made animated art. I loved it although I am grandad and the film was age "younger kids". I am a grown up child I guess.

I got back to my animation software after the Gordon and Paddy film. I am trying to learn the newly discovered software. It is free, open source. It is Open Toons! A bit hard to master, l still don't know 90% of all the functions, and I am a bit old, slow learner, I guess. OpenToonz is highly professional. It is free, no cost. Beautiful! I love that. Both bitmap and vectors. One can use every way of animating, hand drawn, cut-out, tweening etc in this complicated, but very capable program.