ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Any one else get the negative about painting in Digital.

Any one else get the negative about painting in Digital.

Most when you explain Digital art get it. Think it's amazing , the versatility etc. Digital changed my world as I was useless with colour mixing & wasted so much paint & materials. Am self taught. So when was introduced to it, soon became obvious that this was the answer. But then you get the negative old school. Been accused of Cheating even...! Some old bat said "Oh that takes the fun out of it" On the contrary , adds to it. But she was having none of it. Asked her had she tried Digital..No & I wont. So basically told her till you try it don't knock it. Lot of it think is borne out jealousy. All in all it made me a bit cagey at first as sort got point where was scared to say was digital. But now with some good backing I am cool with it. I still sit & draw( old fashioned way) downstairs sat next to my wife so she gets to see me. Also I think spending too long at the screen becomes like the X Box...Play it too long & you go to bed still playing it or painting it when you go to close your eyes.
    So was just wondering what sort feed back others get & how they reply to the doubting Thomases as we call then in Uk.

There will always be knockers of anything computer driven, usually older people who are intimidated by new stuff.

There's little point in trying to change their minds, they would be like that with anything that confuses them. I might add, I'm in my mid sixties, and the youngies love it!

I've sold my prints at Artist Markets, and most people are totally fascinated when you explain, but even though my work is obviously not created with a simple push of a button, there will always be sceptics.