ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Normal behavior, or not?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    206

    Normal behavior, or not?

    Is This Normal behavior, or not?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Layer with Layer Effects ON.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	105.3 KB 
ID:	92825Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Layer with Layer Effects OFF.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	16.5 KB 
ID:	92824
    Layer with Layer Effects ON.png: After using Layer Effects, I set the layer visibility off.
    Layer with Layer Effects OFF.png: Then there are some effect places left behind in the image, is this normal?
    It Disapears with "Undo and then Redo"
    I think that this only happens straight after using the layer Effects

    JMMK
    Sorry for my bad English (I never had English education)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    939
    Hello JMMK
    I think I may have to say, no that’s not normal
    I’ve not been able to reproduce your results here.
    Dose this always happen for you?
    Is it happening just with one specific project?
    Or was it just a onetime thing?
    Maker Of Replica Macoys

    Techie Stuff:
    ArtRage 5.0.5 ~ 15" Macbook Pro
    + 22" HD Monitor ~ macOS 10.12.6 ~ 4 Core i7 3.1GHz CPU ~ 16GB RAM ~ Wacom Intuos4 M and a Spyder4Pro (to keep the colours true!)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    206
    Thank you for helping me
    It happens every time I open it, and hide the text layer.
    ( I tried to insert the ptg file, but it accepts only paintings)
    Sorry for my bad English (I never had English education)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    206
    Open ArtRage
    Fill Linear Gradient from collection complements - Orange-Blue - from Left top to bottem right
    Text type: Times New Roman - Text Size 300 pt
    Presets: Italic - Center - color white
    Text input:
    Layers [enter]
    Effects
    Add Layer Effects to the text layer
    v shadow default
    x cutout [not selected]
    v glow default
    v inner glow default
    v emboss Lights - use global light off
    emboss Surface - Emboss Pillow
    sharp contor on
    radius 95
    Depth -50
    Texture Image - Select from collection - canvases - Canvas Grain
    Scale 24
    Depth -45
    OK
    Now Hide the Text Layer
    This give the left overs on my PC and LapTop

    Hope this is helpfull for you
    Last edited by JMMK; 05-07-2017 at 01:05 AM.
    Sorry for my bad English (I never had English education)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    206
    Painting Width 2560px
    Painting Height 1380px
    72 Pix/Inch
    Sorry for my bad English (I never had English education)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    939
    Hi JMMK,
    OK, so I’ve tried the recipe that you kindly provided and yes I can consistently reproduce your problem now.
    So no this shouldn’t be “normal” behaviour!
    But congratulations! I do think this is some sort of bug that you’ve found.
    Maker Of Replica Macoys

    Techie Stuff:
    ArtRage 5.0.5 ~ 15" Macbook Pro
    + 22" HD Monitor ~ macOS 10.12.6 ~ 4 Core i7 3.1GHz CPU ~ 16GB RAM ~ Wacom Intuos4 M and a Spyder4Pro (to keep the colours true!)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    206
    Hi MarkW,
    Thanks for trying out my recipe.
    Unfortunately, it was not a recipe for a cake , but I am glad that this has made the problem visible.

    Best regards,
    JMMK
    Sorry for my bad English (I never had English education)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    1,856
    It's a bug, and thank you for the exact steps, we're still weeding out a few oddities in ArtRage 5.

    This sort of thing usually showed up if you transformed or adjust the radius too much, so it's just left floating, rather than being applied directly to the paint. (edit: in this case, it's Emboss Pillow at a high radius doing it, the other settings aren't relevant).

    To make it vanish, try toggling the paint below to update the overall display (basically, it's not supposed to appear at all, so it's not really registering on the layer it's ON, because it's not associated with the paint there. But it is stacking on top of the paint below, so toggling that should help).

    or just add a new layer, and rearrange them to update the display. Anything that toggles that area of pixels, basically.
    Ambient Design Tech Support & Community Manager

    This is not my signature.

    Go forth and read the tutorials. Also, check out the featured artists!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    206
    Thanks Hannah for your explanation, and the tips.

    And it's true, I tried it mostly with hide or Unhide the background layer.
    Last edited by JMMK; 05-08-2017 at 05:59 PM.
    Sorry for my bad English (I never had English education)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •