ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: [Bug?] Eye dropper (Pipette, Color Sampler) got broken from Artrage 4 => Artrage 5

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Erlangen, Germany
    Posts
    2

    Exclamation [Bug?] Eye dropper (Pipette, Color Sampler) got broken from Artrage 4 => Artrage 5

    Hi,
    I just started using ArtRage 5 (using the frEshest, hottest version 5.0.4 on Mac).
    I often pick colors by holting Alt-key and clicking on a colored spot in my painting.

    With AR5 I just realized that I almost never(!) get the color sampled that I see on the screen.
    The color is always sampled much brighter.

    To illustrate I use the felt pen with a hard tip (full opacity) and just draw a stroke with RGB (0,0,255) - full blue.
    After I drew the stroke, I Alt+click inside the stroke, to sample the color for the second stroke.
    I repeat this multiple times - just draw with the sampled color of the last drawn stroke.

    Here is what I get with Art Rage 4:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Artrage4_sample.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	37.6 KB 
ID:	92616
    => this works as expected. The lines keep their color...

    Here is what I get with Art Rage 5:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Artrage5_sample.png 
Views:	7 
Size:	88.5 KB 
ID:	92617

    After just a few strokes the color is completely off my original color.
    This is not as expected.

    Is this a bug or a feature?
    Do I have some setting to adjust to get the AR4 behaviour?
    Can anyone reproduce?

    Thanks for taking care.

    Wolfram.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    1,855
    The Color Sampler has some additional features in ArtRage 5, so open the Settings and make sure you haven't changed anything that might affect the sampling (e.g. the area of the sample - if it's high, you'll be getting white from the background).

    Canvas lighting might also cause this; if you're sampling with canvas lighting on in AR5 and off in AR4, you might be picking highlighted areas repeatedly, or something like that.
    Ambient Design Tech Support & Community Manager

    This is not my signature.

    Go forth and read the tutorials. Also, check out the featured artists!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Erlangen, Germany
    Posts
    2
    [QUOTE=HannahRage;516327]The Color Sampler has some additional features in ArtRage 5, so open the Settings and make sure you haven't changed anything that might affect the sampling (e.g. the area of the sample - if it's high, you'll be getting white from the background).

    Ah!
    Thanks!
    That did the trick.
    The "Expansion Area" of the eye dropper in ArtRage5 was set to 50% per default. (I never changed it - I did not even know the tool has settings).
    I cranked it down to 3% - now the tool has the expected behaviour.

    Maybe I it worth re-thinking this "out-of-the box default value" of 50% - as even for quite wide strokes this always picks up white background.
    Which is surprising for users.

    What makes this even harder is the cursor behaviour.
    When I switch to the eye dropper tool, I get a square that shows me how wide my sample area is. Great!
    If I work with the "Alt"-Click hotkey, the mouse cursor changes to a cross hair - giving me the (false) impression I have a high accuracy (0%) sample area.

    Thanks for the tip - anyway!

    WOK

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    1,855
    The default settings for the color sampler should be a single pixel (ArtRage 4's color picking is 1 pixel). I'm glad that was all it was!
    Ambient Design Tech Support & Community Manager

    This is not my signature.

    Go forth and read the tutorials. Also, check out the featured artists!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    301
    Quote Originally Posted by DerWOK View Post

    What makes this even harder is the cursor behaviour.
    When I switch to the eye dropper tool, I get a square that shows me how wide my sample area is. Great!
    If I work with the "Alt"-Click hotkey, the mouse cursor changes to a cross hair - giving me the (false) impression I have a high accuracy (0%) sample area.

    I agree. This is odd behavior. Maybe you should post a message to the suggestions thread!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    1,855
    Quote Originally Posted by DarkOwnt View Post
    I agree. This is odd behavior. Maybe you should post a message to the suggestions thread!
    The main reason this happens currently is that it's meant to be a quick shortcut to settings you already know about. If you're using the oil brush with the square head toggled (for example) then the cursor will look exactly the same as the color sampler cursor, and the oil brush is still selected, so there's no visual indication that you're picking color instead.

    It might change in future, but that's why it works that way at the moment.
    Ambient Design Tech Support & Community Manager

    This is not my signature.

    Go forth and read the tutorials. Also, check out the featured artists!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    9
    I have the same bloody problem and its driving me bonkers. I tried to adjust EVERY option in the bloody Pipette settings options and I get squat in terms of accuracy. constrained it to 1% / 2% / 3%
    with metallics, with lighting and without. I never seem to get accurate one click colour samples. Any tips please? Im desperate. on ElCapitan btw. Thank you

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •