ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Absolute beginner!

Absolute beginner!

Hi guys
    I recently bought a graphics tablet to use with a photography course I`m starting and I seem to have stumbled across digital art/software by accident. I`ve never really drawn or had any artistic bent before but I`m thinking its something I really could get into having bought a copy of Artrage 4 initially for the grandkids but liking what it can do. My question - Should I start to learn to paint the conventional way with brushes,paints etc or is it possible/best to learn painting by digital means?.
    regards
    Steve

You will probably enjoy learning both simultaneously. I do. I love the smell of crayons and the sound of a pencil moving across rough paper, but I also love that I can produce a "watercolor" drawing on ArtRage without having to wash brushes. Do both. You will have a wonderful time.
    Welcome to ArtRage, and to the forum!
    Sue Ellen.

Well, it won't hurt to learn either before the other. And it wont hurt to learn both at the same time. But if you are comfortable working with the graphics tablet, I would suggest mainly learning digitally to start. That is before you start using actual paints and canvases. You'll save tons of money in that area and it will give you a bit of an idea of how to work with real paints. However working with real paint is different. It is a lot less forgiving, a lot more messy, but also you have a lot more freedom.