ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Only possible to export at 72 dpi ???

Only possible to export at 72 dpi ???

Ok - forgive me, I'm a Artrage2 newbie.....so if I have this wrong, please please please correct me. I can only "export an image" at 72 dpi? I imported a 2.5 square .png file at 300 dpi that I want to fill with paint. I filled with paint. But then I exported it as both a .png and a .psd (maintaining my layers) and both came out 10.5 square at 72 dpi. ACK!!! Am I doing something wrong? I need this to be 300 dpi.

Can someone help me?

Kari

Bumping because I'd like to know, too.

In ArtRage 2.2 files are exported at 72 DPI because we dont keep an internal DPI setting. Note though that ArtRage doesn't change the actual number of pixels in an imported PSD or PNG.
    This means when you export an ArtRage painting to a PSD it still has the same quality and number of pixels as it originally came in with.

The problem is that the apparent dimensions in inches or centimetres changes in Photoshop or some other application that reads the PSD.

All you need to do then inside Photoshop is change the printing resolution of the document back to 300 DPI. There's a 'gotcha' though, because Photoshop changes the apparent size of the document when you alter the DPI.
    So follow these steps (Photoshop 7):
    1) Export the PSD from ArtRage
    2) Open the PSD in Photoshop
    3) From the 'Image' menu, choose 'Image Size'
    4) Take a note of the current Pixel Dimensions of the document (say, 1024 x 768 pixels)
    5) Change the Resolution setting to 300 DPI. You'll see that the pixel dimensions change.
    6) Change the pixel dimensions back to what they were (eg: 1024 x 768)
    7) Turn off the 'Resample Image' checkbox
    8) Hit Ok.