ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Hello! I'm a self-taught student artist of 6 months and new ArtRage fan.

Hello! I'm a self-taught student artist of 6 months and new ArtRage fan.

Hi there!

I'm Ava, and I've been teaching myself art. All told, I have been able to put together 6 months total of consecutive art study, which has been broken up by severe illness (still ongoing). I was a software developer for over a decade in a previous life. I'm still somewhat young but not as young as I used to be.

I didn't draw before I quit software development, apart from software logic flow charts and circuit diagrams in college. I didn't think I really could do anything more than stick figures, but a good artist friend of mine saw potential in me when I started trying to do fairly radical image manipulations on stock art resources I had bought in my first attempt at a small business after a life at Large Tech Company.

So anyways, after a year-long break and then a few months break, I am back to drawing and studying art. When I am too sick to draw (which is often) I try to read and at least examine a bit of art for a little while.

I am a little sad that I'm not progressing faster, but that's to be expected, what with the illness and all, and also being a raw beginner.

Anyways, here's some stuff I did before I discovered ArtRage, using an older iPad, one of the stubby Wacom styluses, and random art programs. Collected into a little image strip, the top covers my approximate skill for the first four months and the bottom my skill at the start of the last two months.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bridge.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	166.0 KB 
ID:	90911

(From left to right, top to bottom: finger + unknown art program, stylus + procreate, stylus + procreate, and the bottom is all stylus + Bamboo Paper.)