ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Import reference image in AR Lite?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    12

    Import reference image in AR Lite?

    I’m about to purchase latest Wacom Intuos Draw tablet that includes ArtRage Lite. Before I do, I need to make sure that Lite allows me to import “tracing images” as layers so I can draw over them (for maps). Can anyone confirm that AR Lite gives me this function?

    ALSO: can I upgrade to full AR version if I like Lite but want more?

    Thanks for help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    1,856
    Yes, and yes! Tracing + references are a fundamental part of ArtRage so will be in every edition. And you can definitely upgrade at any point.

    You can see a full list of Lite's features here if you need to check anything else: https://www.artrage.com/artrage-lite/features/
    Ambient Design Tech Support & Community Manager

    This is not my signature.

    Go forth and read the tutorials. Also, check out the featured artists!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by HannahRage View Post
    Yes, and yes! Tracing + references are a fundamental part of ArtRage so will be in every edition. And you can definitely upgrade at any point. You can see a full list of Lite's features here if you need to check anything else: https://www.artrage.com/artrage-lite/features/
    Excellent! And thanks for quick reply.

    One more for you about this before I purchase: It looks like LITE only exports to JPG and not GIF, is that correct? But FULL AR does export to GIF, right? And if so, how many levels of GIF will it support: x256?

    Thanks again!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    1,856
    Yes, ArtRage 4 exports to .gif. It will export at 255 levels (the standard maximum value), but doesn't support transparency (note: .gif format is not a good format for any image that hasn't first been processed by a pixel editor. It's just not designed to convert nicely, so we don't really recommend using it for most purposes).
    Ambient Design Tech Support & Community Manager

    This is not my signature.

    Go forth and read the tutorials. Also, check out the featured artists!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by HannahRage View Post
    Yes, ArtRage 4 exports to .gif. It will export at 255 levels (the standard maximum value), but doesn't support transparency (note: .gif format is not a good format for any image that hasn't first been processed by a pixel editor. It's just not designed to convert nicely, so we don't really recommend using it for most purposes).
    We can agree to disagree on the value of GIF format, but I do want to confirm that AR LITE only exports to JPG, correct?

    Thanks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    1,856
    That's correct!
    Ambient Design Tech Support & Community Manager

    This is not my signature.

    Go forth and read the tutorials. Also, check out the featured artists!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by HannahRage View Post
    That's correct!
    Bingo! I'm set (and excited!)

    Thanks very much for your help.

    H

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •