ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Free Paper Grain

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,896

    Free Paper Grain

    An attempt to donate a Paper Grain.

    If you put this into the ArtRage /Resources/Grains folder it will be selectable from the deepest recesses of the Edit Paper Menu.

    It's nice for dusty mediums.

    Don't forget to put a Layer over it before you start to draw.

    .................................................. ......................................

    We have a problem Auckland! :cry:

    Grain files are .png, is this why it won't attach?

    Would a .jpg be useable as a Grain?

    .................................................. .
    Thanks for advice via the new forum.
    This should work ok now.
    It won't appear instantly on screen because of the dimensions.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	texture_from_a_book_cover_203.jpg 
Views:	15271 
Size:	199.6 KB 
ID:	52  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Posts
    3,839
    Ah, Ding!
    Yeah - we only allow jpgs.

    Okay, we'll have to put paper swapping on hold for the moment while we decide how to handle it.

    AndyRage.
    AndyRage's mantra for graphics engine code:
    "Sure - how hard can it be?"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    52
    Why do I need to add a new layer before drawing?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    2,566
    Because as I mentioned in my tutorial, if you don't you cannot erase without destroying the color paper layer. When you load up a paper in this way try to think of the paper layer as a base coat of artwork that can be erased away just like any other. The part that is persistent is the grain and paper color in the paper settings option box. Hope this helps. Keep at it.

    Be well,

    Fashmir
    Be well,

    "Teach, Learn, Thrive"~DM


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    52
    I didn't really understand why not just use the canvas color selector thats in the paper properties...I don't think that color gets erased.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Posts
    3,504
    Hi Aged P!

    Any idea how large that PNG file is? ( right clicking the file, and bringing up the properties window should do it ).

    The maximum attachment size at the moment is 256k so my guess is that's what is preventing it from posting. You could try saving it as a jpg certainly and that'd probably do it. There may be a slight loss of quality but I think the result should work out ok.
    Dave
    Resident Bug-Hunter
    Ambient Design

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    2,566
    Michael, you are quite right, the paper color in the settings dialog is persistent and will not be destroyed by erasing. The reason to use the color layer as I have described is that it is not just a flat color over a grain texture, the color layer has hue, value and saturation information that can make your paper more interesting and realistic. That's all I intended. The nice thing about all of this is that there are no rules within the capabilities of the software.

    Be well,

    Fashmir
    Be well,

    "Teach, Learn, Thrive"~DM


  8. #8
    just convert it to 100% quality jpeg file.
    HAHAHA

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Posts
    218
    Hi Fashmir....

    I share Michael's question... I just downloaded the texture file, opened a new project, loaded it as grain, and tried erasing. I could see no difference. Am I missing something? (It's a beautiful grain, by the way! Thanks!)

    Blue skies
    love
    Roy
    ROY BLUMENTHAL

    Visual Facilitator: http://royblumenthal.com/portfolio

    ArtRage 3.5.5 and 4.0.4 on:
    Fujitsu T901, Asus R1E

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    2,566
    Hey Roy,

    Sorry I missed that you had posted this question. The best way for me to answer is to have you go to my blog (link in my signature) and read the AR paper tutorial. It explains in (I hope) adequate detail the method of paper making I am promoting.
    Be well,

    "Teach, Learn, Thrive"~DM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •