ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Does the the thumbnail view work under Vista?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    1,096

    Does the the thumbnail view work under Vista?

    I am not seeing any thumbnails in Vista and wondered if it is "supposed" to work. I used the regular XP installer.

    Thanks,
    D.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    3,842
    Are you using Vista 32 bit or Vista 64 bit?
    There is a bug in the 64 bit thumbnail viewer which stops it working on some systems.
    That bug will be corrected in the next release.
    AndyRage's mantra for graphics engine code:
    "Sure - how hard can it be?"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    1,096
    32 bit here. All I get is the ArtRage logo.

    D.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ambient Design
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    3,842
    Hmmm... okay we probably need to do some more testing here then. Did you install it with Admin rights? Vista might be a bit more testy about that.
    AndyRage's mantra for graphics engine code:
    "Sure - how hard can it be?"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    1,096
    OK, here's the story, strange but true...

    I re-installed, verifying Admin rights (which I think I did before anyhow). Rebooted. Searched the whole machine for all PTG files (across 6 drives).

    * There are about 5 (out of dozens) of files that have a preview. The rest show the regular AR icon. These are not recent files (2004 in a least some cases - both creation and last update date).

    * If I create a new file, it shows the preview.

    * If I update a file, SOMETIMES it shows the preview.

    Very odd. It could be my machine's set-up or a funky driver somewhere (in case, for example, the previews call upon the graphics drivers in some way). Or, perhaps it is something about the new way Vista handles thumbnails (they are no longer in the thumbs.db files in each folder).

    I'll let you know if I figure anything out.

    David

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    1,096
    Rapid update...

    I just copied a folder with 73 PTG files to a new location. All were given thumbnails.

    I am beginning to suspect that the problem may lay in whatever triggers Vista to regenerate a thumbnail for a file.

    D.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    22,334
    All that and all I heard was '6 drives'.

    I'm waiting for the terrabyte drives myself. Meanwhile, I'll wallow in self-pity and envy.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Gallery
    View images
    Posts
    1,096
    It is actually 3 physical drives, each divided into 2 partitions.

    I have both XP and Vista loaded, and I am an avid photographer, so I have well over 40 gigs of photos on this machine. If I had a copy of my wife's music (it's legit, too!), I'd need an extra 100 GB of storage!

    We're a techie couple...

    D.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •