ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Piero di Cosimo (1461-1522) An early fantasyworld painter

Piero di Cosimo (1461-1522) An early fantasyworld painter

A discovery I made outside the ususal bunch of great masters. Piero di Cosimo, from Renaissance to early Mannerism.
    Somehow a Mediterranean Breughel or Bosch, disquieting, but in a more subtle way, without a manifest dim anguish and disgust in my modest opinion. If he were free to get rid of constraints, canons and formalitie of his age and allowed to paint freely, he would have probably somehow anticipated Salvador Dalì visions or have been one of his references (presumably with el Greco).
    All the above is just my thought, but I'm not an expert or an art historian. Anyway have a look here if you like and feel curious:

https://www.google.it/search?q=piero...a%3B2200%3B907

From Wikipedia:
    Italian (more interesting and expanded): https://it.wikipedia.org/wiki/Piero_di_Cosimo
    English (very poor and conventional): https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Piero_di_Cosimo
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PdC.jpg 
Views:	89 
Size:	72.5 KB 
ID:	86821  
    Last edited by Caesar; 06-16-2015 at 09:12 PM.
    Panta rei (everything flows)!

Increíble!
    Jamás había visto esta obra...
    Gracias por compartirla, y comentarla...!
    Regards from Chile
    "El arte no reproduce lo visible. Lo hace visible" Paul Klee

I LOVE it! I've of course heard the name but I didn't know he had such fun paintings. Great sharing. Thanks Caesar. Must be fun realizing there's probably something to reincarnation, as this could well have been you.

"Not a bit is wasted and the best is yet to come. . ." -- remembered from a dream