ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: Complete Newbie to Art and Artrage

Complete Newbie to Art and Artrage

Hi,

As the title says I'm completely new to art and Artrage itself. Due to personal problems, I'm basically stuck to working on my computer. I've been told that doing some drawing/painting artwork would help me. Can I learn how to paint and draw using Artrage? I am willing to move to a physical medium when I can, but at the moment my health prevents me from doing so. I've noted the tutorial links on this website, and I was thinking of taking a course in Artrage. Is that a good idea or am I biting off more than I can chew?

Many thanks,

Steve

Quote Originally Posted by D Akey View Post
    Try out the demo. I think the demo is still free?
    A demo you had to pay for would be fairly pointless, I think. Although, maybe that's an undiscovered market... Coming soon: Demo version $99.99
    http://www.artrage.com/demos/

Getting back on topic: Yes, you can learn to paint with ArtRage. You can learn to paint in ways similar to how you would in traditional media (e.g. sketch with a pencil, faithfully follow oil paint tutorials), or you can learn how to paint in ways you could never recreate in real life (mixing up an and all media, experimenting with digital effects and custom sticker sprays, just ignoring 'normal painting process' completely).

Can you learn to paint well? That's up to you. But as long as you're having fun, what does it matter? ArtRage can give you the same sort of effects and learning curve as if you had a box of paints, a paintbrush, a pencil and some crayons in front of you. But with an undo button, layers, zoom, and a few more menus and options to figure out.