Thread: First digital painting, tried to emulate my physical painting style - feedback?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

First digital painting, tried to emulate my physical painting style - feedback?

So I'm primarily a physical painter - I do a lot of thick impasto landscapes, some painting entirely with painting knives, some with brush+knife. I've tried to pick up digital painting in the past, but could never get past the strangeness/unfamiliarity of photoshop's layers & strange tools. Then I discovered ArtRage, and found the tools and workflow very familiar as a "wet" painter. I did this piece as kind of an experiment, really just "feeling out" the tools and how the paint flows/mixes/lays down with the oil brush, paint tube, and pallette knife. I painted it much as I would a physical painting - single layer, wet into wet, using the "dirty brush" setting do lay down paint and draw colors together, "rinsing" manually.

anyway - where should I go from here? critiques? tips to get my brushwork/blending more distinct? I haven't even started exploring layers yet - good tips for incorporating them into this style of painting? would love any feedback/tips/tricks/techniques from more experienced digital painters!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	test landscape 1.jpeg 
Views:	2321 
Size:	407.4 KB 
ID:	85915

Gorgeous! I think you did an exceptional job, especially since this is your first digital work! The texture that can be achieved in this program is a lot of fun, and you obviously have a good grasp of how to use it already! Would love to see some of your traditional work too. How are you liking the feel of the digital paints so far?

~Scribbles
    Every artist dips his brush in his own soul, and paints his own nature into his pictures.

~ Henry Ward Beecher

I love your style and the way you have used artrage. If this is your first attempt I can't wait to see your future works with artrage!