ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Rachelle's gallery

Rachelle's gallery

Edited on January 5th, 2015, just to change the thread's title.
    Formerly known as 'New abstract, found a way to use 'Difference' blend mode with a white base layer.'

Re-edited on January 13th, 2015, to end up with my more definitive thread title, simply Rachelle's gallery.

Greetings ArtRage folks,

My first post here!

I've been using ArtRage 3 for a couple of years now, and visiting the forum from time to time. Many of you have sparked the creativity when my paintbrush was on low batteries.

I mostly work with Oil (ArtRage Oil, that is!), and 'Blend modes' such as 'Difference'. I never quite know where I'll end up, starting randomly with color and shapes, letting the process guide me on a color and texture journey. As I dive into a painting by Transforming layers, shapes and color start standing out, and I then Transform some more, playing with Blend modes till I'm satisfied.

Here is the abstract piece I did today, with a new technique I wasn't using before: I usually keep the bottom layer on 'Normal' blend mode, but this time I checked what colors I would get if I set the bottom layer on 'Difference' too. I really liked it! yet when I Merged the layers, the result wouldn't have the same colors I had on screen before Merging. After much trials and tribulations, I eventually intuited that if I used a bottom layer of all white (Bucket tool), my desired result would still show after Merging all layers.

Here it is:

...it's a bird! ...it's a plane!... it's an abstract.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	29 octob2014 03c BLANC a.jpg 
Views:	55 
Size:	99.4 KB 
ID:	84103