ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iPad Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: picking up color from photo or painting in progress, etc.

picking up color from photo or painting in progress, etc.

I just purchased Artrage and am learning how to use it. I am not a good artist as so many of you obviously are, and I will be using the tracing method with many of my photographs. But, aside from when the tracing paper is on, how do you pick up a specific color from a photo or work in progress to use on it? Actually, is there a way to have a reference photo open at the same time as what I'm working on? Also, is there a place to test out your color, brush stroke, etc., before putting it on what you're working on? In Painter, for instance, I can keep a second file ready for both of these uses.

Thanks for your help... this is a wonderful program.

Hi jdytart,

There are a couple of options you could use here. Firstly, you could open your image as a reference image ( Tools -> Open a reference image, or ctrl+R ) Reference images can be repositioned, rotated and scaled by grabbing and dragging the middle, edges and corners respectively so you can drop them in to ArtRage at a size and orientation that is appropriate for you.

You can have this image sitting there over a part of your canvas as you work to refer to. Also, the colour sampler tool ( the one that looks like an eye dropper ) can be used to pick up colours from reference images as well as your own painting. Just select the tool and click on the colour you want to use, or hold down the mouse button and move the mouse around until you have the one you're after.