ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: How much copying is copyright??

How much copying is copyright??

Hello everyone, this is my first post.

I'm a very very new artist, well, I would barely call myself an artist at this point. I've loved to draw my entire life but finally I'm trying to make it a hobby. I purchased a Wacom tablet and I'm drawing almost every day. However, most of the things I'm drawing (for now) are just copies of other cartoons or other drawings from books and such. When I find a small cartoon I enjoy online, I like to copy it but add a few things so it's not an exact replica. Please look at the pictures below and let me know if this is copyright? I plan on starting a blog about my adventure of drawing. I think it will be neat to look back at 5 years from now. I just don't want to post some of my drawings if they are considered copyright.

Thanks in advance for your time!

Name:  4th-of-july-cartoons.png
Views: 93
Size:  100.8 KBClick image for larger version. 

Name:	Elevator Firework.jpg 
Views:	48 
Size:	123.7 KB 
ID:	81776

And that's why there are lawyers. The question on one hand does you credit, while on the other it makes me question how limited you are seeing yourself. Don't get me wrong. I appreciate studying and trying to learn from other people. But I think you really need to stretch a whole lot more than this or you will likely find yourself frustrated and totally lose the potential for the real fun.

Copyright? Depends on what you're planning on using it for. If you're trying to learn how to do it, then it's probably fine. If you're trying to work on technique, work on technique.