ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Thread: My attempt at anime

Talking My attempt at anime

Here's a change of pace for me. I'm not very good at anime (despite what people tell you, it is pronounced an-i-may, not ah-nime), but I try my best.
    Any suggestions? I know her eyes look crooked, but I duplicated the layer of one eye and flipped in around and stuff to make the second one. So technically, the left eye is a copy/reversed version of the right eye.

I call her Kira.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Kira.jpg 
Views:	92 
Size:	98.2 KB 
ID:	80553

I did anime when I was new and sucked at art :P

Looks like you could clean up a few lines. Is this finished work?

Like what you've done! Looks good!

Just a few thoughts.

You might try playing around with line weights. Thicker lines to one side to suggest which side your light source is on.

The eyes look good. Flipping was a good idea to get consistency with the eyes. You might move the highlights on them to the same side on each. Again, this will suggest which side your light source is on.

Again, like what you've done. Keep it up!
    I'm an artist. I draw flies . . .

My dog's name is Kira

Nice work !

I quit MangaStudio Pro too and doing all my stuff on ArtRage :P

----> ah-ne-meh <----

Good first attempt. If you're learning anime, it may be beneficial to check out a youtube artist named Mark Crilley. He's an excellent accomplished manga artist here in the US and is quite dedicated to teaching, and has produced several good tutorial books well worth the 20 bucks each. Not to mention his manga stories are good as well to read.

Currently he is who I will be honing my skills by learning with his books. Unfortunately health concerns have been taking the forefront of my attention and my anime and manga studies have halted.