ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: load tracing image as reference

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    599

    Lightbulb load tracing image as reference

    I'm sitting here painting and realised how cool it would be to have an option to load my tracing image in the reference window. It would be a real time saver.

    The folder I'm in has a few hundred pictures, taking a while to load, so I'm having difficulty locating the image I'm tracing, as reference. It's all visual since ArtRage doesn't have a file name for the tracing image anywhere in the UI. So I've gone to list view instead in the tracing window, memorised the file name, gone to the ref window and opened it.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Huntsville, On., Canada
    Posts
    5,356
    Why not save a copy of your tracing image as a jpg then you can load it as a reference

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    1,856
    Quote Originally Posted by justjean View Post
    Why not save a copy of your tracing image as a jpg then you can load it as a reference
    They're saying it's already saved somewhere, they just can't find it again easily when they want to open it as a reference instead I've had that problem myself, especially when I grab a picture from a folder full of 400 pictures.
    Ambient Design Tech Support & Community Manager

    This is not my signature.

    Go forth and read the tutorials. Also, check out the featured artists!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    599
    Hannah's right, justjean. I have the image already under my canvas ready for tracing. I put the same image up in the Refs window as well. It would be nice to have an option in the Refs window menu eg Load Tracing Image As Reference or a little icon alongside the Load Reference Image / New Scrap / New View icons, eg Load Tracing Image.

    I'm not loading it as a reference instead. I'm loading it as a reference as well as a tracing image.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    2,874
    It would be a nice option to have.

    In the meantime, you might try to get into the habit of loading any image you're looking to use as a reference image first, since the references allow you to automatically make them tracing images.
    Nothing is easy to the unwilling.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    599
    Thanks very much for the tip, I'll try that

    Edit: Brilliant! I right-clicked on ref image and chose "Make this a Tracing Image" (this option isn't in the ref window menu btw, not sure why). Learn something new every day. Thank you!
    Last edited by hildee; 04-25-2014 at 11:19 AM.

  7. #7

    a new way to use tracing image

    I wish there was a programmable button I could hold down to see the full strength of the tracing image and then let up when I draw and repeat often while drawing.

    Be able to see the tracing image at full strength and then back down to a percentages of your choice!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •