ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Stylus Control Center

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Madrid, New Mexico
    Posts
    79

    Stylus Control Center

    AR4

    OS 10.9.2

    The center doesn't always recognize my art pen. Also, it seems that stylus recognition is bound to the first layer when it does work.
    Eden
    You can't outsource your soul work.
    www.edensart.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    1,851
    Hi there! Would you be able to provide a few more details for us?

    What pen are you using?

    What do you mean by 'bound to the first layer'?

    Are your tablet drivers up to date?

    How often does it fail to recognise your pen? Are there any common factors?
    Ambient Design Tech Support & Community Manager

    This is not my signature.

    Go forth and read the tutorials. Also, check out the featured artists!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Madrid, New Mexico
    Posts
    79
    Wacom Intuos

    Quote Originally Posted by HannahRage View Post
    Hi there! Would you be able to provide a few more details for us?

    What pen are you using?

    Art pen for Intuos

    What do you mean by 'bound to the first layer'?

    I tried this again. If I clear the settings on a layer above the base layer, the stylus isn't recognized immediately

    Are your tablet drivers up to date?

    Yes.

    How often does it fail to recognise your pen? Are there any common factors?
    If I clear the settings (the common factor), the pen isn't immediately recognized. It can take a few moments.
    Eden
    You can't outsource your soul work.
    www.edensart.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    3,140
    What do you mean when you say 'the pen isn't immediately recognized'? Is it not able to paint? What changes on the screen to show that the pen 'has been recognized'?

    If you clear settings for any given stylus, the UI should indicate that the stylus has No Assigned Settings. Until you assign new ones or use a different stylus (at which point settings are allocated), that's how it will remain.
    Matt
    ArtRage UI
    Ambient Design.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Madrid, New Mexico
    Posts
    79
    Here in this screenshot, I've first cleared the settings, then closed the panel.

    When I paint a few strokes, the stylus isn't recognized. But, when I wait a minute or sometimes two, the same stylus is recognized when I open the panel.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	stylus_control.jpg 
Views:	45 
Size:	70.5 KB 
ID:	80151  
    Eden
    You can't outsource your soul work.
    www.edensart.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    3,140
    Thanks for the clarification. When you choose to clear all settings from the main menu in the panel (as opposed to clearing allocated settings for a specific stylus) all stylus records are removed. If I use that option I see similar behaviour (layer isn't relevant and it happens on Windows as well).

    A new record for the stylus will only be added when you change styluses, restart the app, and perhaps at another couple of trigger points where the system checks. This doesn't matter however, because until more than one stylus is registered the stylus control center doesn't really do anything regardless of whether your stylus is listed or not - With only one stylus there's no need to use the function to track individual tool settings for multiple styluses.
    Matt
    ArtRage UI
    Ambient Design.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •