I'm new to ArtRage and thought it might be worth documenting problems I've had getting it working in a predictable way. Even if you don't have exactly the same set of issues, navigating through a similar process might help. Many thanks to the members of this forum who've gone through variations of these kinds of problems and the ArtRage support team without which I probably would never found a workable solution. This note collects information found it various posts although I wasn't able to find them again using Search.

Thanks also to wacom support for resolving (most) of my issues with the tablet itself (Intous Pro 5). I've never used (or had need of a tablet prior to ArtRage).

I'm using ArtRage 4.0.6, full version, on Windows 8.1 on a home office grade HP desktop about a year old, 8GB memory. No touch screen. I use Stardock's Start8 and ModernMix - somehow a 27" window seems a bit much. I've also got a Logitech gaming keyboard and mouse - backlit helps.

Initial problems: wacom tablet and gaming mouse seem to get in each others way. In general, right click doesn't seem to work at all. Also wireless mode on wacom tablet is erratic although when hooked up via USB seems to be acting (other than right mouse) as desired. In particular in wireless mode, only one of the led's in the touch ring lights up.

So, first thing is to update any and all drivers - suggested by this forum and particularly with a machine upgraded to 8.1 from 8.0 of Windows standard protocol. Go to HP and download and install them all. Done with that. No improvement.

Contact wacom support. Actually a good conversation but no real ideas. Suggested keep experimenting through the weekend. Eventually installed the tablet on another PC (previous generation still around) with Win 7 Pro on it. Tablet works like a champ - USB connect or wireless. Ah ha - probably the Win 8.1 machine or something on it at least.