ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Gradient fill.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2

    Cool Gradient fill.

    Hello everyone,
    Is there a way in AR4 to make a gradient fill without using the stencils?
    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    2,874
    Yes, there is. Just select the Fill tool and on the settings panel you'll find an option for filling with a gradient.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	gradienthowto.jpg 
Views:	93 
Size:	60.0 KB 
ID:	79553
    Nothing is easy to the unwilling.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    142
    But with the regular fill, I can fill in just an area I've drawn. Using the gradient fill, If I want to fill in just a part of a canvas, I have to use the Selection Tool or a Stencil. If I use a stencil, I need to erase all the fill around the stencil block. Like this:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Fill Tool.jpg 
Views:	93 
Size:	63.6 KB 
ID:	79558

    Is there a way to make it fill with a gradient within just an area I've chosen?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Columbus/Ohio/USA
    Posts
    1,560
    If you use a stencil? then you just have to click inside the stencil to fill it with a full color or a gradient.the same can be done with free hand drawing, you just fill it with the gradient. Sorry if I did not quite understood your question in that case, sorry for this post.
    Last edited by Rondo; 02-25-2014 at 01:17 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    1,856
    Quote Originally Posted by sueellen View Post
    But with the regular fill, I can fill in just an area I've drawn. Using the gradient fill, If I want to fill in just a part of a canvas, I have to use the Selection Tool or a Stencil. If I use a stencil, I need to erase all the fill around the stencil block. Like this:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Fill Tool.jpg 
Views:	93 
Size:	63.6 KB 
ID:	79558

    Is there a way to make it fill with a gradient within just an area I've chosen?
    Unfortunately not with the stencil. You can work around this by filling the stencil with paint and selecting it ("Magic Wand") or outlining with the selection tool (e.g. "Paint Area") and then using the gradient tool.

    Selecting existing paint is likely to be a much quicker workaround than trying to select an area from scratch.
    Ambient Design Tech Support & Community Manager

    This is not my signature.

    Go forth and read the tutorials. Also, check out the featured artists!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    142
    Thank you, HannahRage. I will have some fun with this method today.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Atlanta (Georgia) area
    Posts
    968
    I use the select tool to create a mask for the stencil.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    142
    More help, please-- I've used the ink pen to fill a stencil on its own layer, used "Select Layer Contents" and created a gradient to fill the selection. Excellent: now I have the stencil filled with the gradient. How do I add a third color to the gradient? Some of the pre-sets provided have a band of three colors or more.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    3438 ft above sea level
    Posts
    2,951
    Hi sueellen,
    To add new colours to a gradient launch the gradient editor:-

    Name:  gradient_01.png
Views: 436
Size:  91.5 KB


    The Gradient Editor will allow you to:
    Add/remove colour points and change the position of colour points
    Change the midpoint position between two colours
    Add/remove opacity points and change their positions
    Change the midpoint position between opacity values

    Name:  gradient_02.png
Views: 463
Size:  39.0 KB

    Note: Only one point can be active at a time
    The Controls underneath the gradient will change depending on which type of point is selected

    To add a new colour point click anywhere above the gradient image
    (be careful not to click a midpoint as that will be selected instead of a new colour point being added)

    Name:  gradient_03.png
Views: 456
Size:  34.4 KB

    A new colour point is added and becomes the active point. A new midpoint is added automatically.
    Adjust the position of the new colour point by dragging on it directly or using the position slider.

    Click the custom colour swatch to change the colour value of any active colour point

    Name:  gradient_04.png
Views: 454
Size:  195.7 KB

    Add as many new colour points as desired by repeating the above method

    Opacity points work in the same way. Click underneath the gradient to add new opacity points.
    Adjust the opacity slider for the active opacity point to change the level of opacity.

    To remove a colour or opacity point:-
    Select the point to make it active.
    Click the Trashcan Icon
    Last edited by Juz; 03-24-2014 at 07:05 PM.
    "I paint because I love to cut mats" (Arthur Alexander)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    142
    Thank you, Juz!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •