ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Art Rage vs Painter

Art Rage vs Painter

I was wondering if any of you with experience using Corel Painter as well as Art Rage could offer any insight into how the two programs compare. I'm new to digital painting and found Photoshop to be just too cumbersome to use as a painting (traditional style) program. I am enjoying Art Rage but was curious about Painter. Thanks for your input.

Somewhat dated, but this post may be useful to you:
    http://forums.artrage.com/showthread...rs-pen-and-ink
    Last edited by rscottfree; 12-13-2013 at 07:51 AM.

I used Corel about 4 years ago and was on their forum.
    They seem to be more of a Photo retouching and redoing program. Most of their things seem to be changing a photo to look like something else.
    ArtRage is more of an outright drawing program to sharpen your drawing and painting skills.
    Hope that helps,
    Ken
    Love one another.-Jesus

Thanks rscottfree. That was exactly what I was looking for.

painter vs. artrage

Quote Originally Posted by Raybrite View Post
    I used Corel about 4 years ago and was on their forum. They seem to be more of a Photo retouching and redoing program. Most of their things seem to be changing a photo to look like something else. ArtRage is more of an outright drawing program to sharpen your drawing and painting skills. Hope that helps, Ken
    I have been using Painter since version 3. Now it is 13 (X3), that is about 20 years. I can tell you that Painter is not a photo retouching or editing program. Well, it can be used that way, just like a lot of ArtRage users use AR to trace and paint photos. Today a photo editing or retouching program has to work to work in 14 or 16 bits. Painter, just like ArtRage, works in 8 bits.