ArtRage 5 Product PageArtRage Lite Product PageArtRage for iOS Product PageArtRage for Android Product PageArtRage  Android Oil Painter Free Product PageArtRage  Free Demos Page

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How do you fight against the learning period?

How do you fight against the learning period?

Hello,

This post goes for the advance artist of the forum:

I'm currently learning how to paint, I've been doing so for two years and I know I could have advance and do much more. But due to not to be available to realising what I've on mind or I'm coping, I don't paint as much as I should, not even close.

The combination of this with being a person with a lazy touch(which I believe is the main problem) is frustrating, as times moves forward and I seem unaware of what I'm not doing and should do. I want to move forward, to progress, but it seem I'm stuck in the stupidest way.

My question is, how did you pass this hard learning period? I'm sure its been hard for every one. What would you tell to some one at this stage?

Thank you very much for your time,

Ion
    Last edited by Zubi; 10-28-2013 at 03:51 AM.

Hey there,

I'm attempting to learn myself and really struggling, so maybe I'm not the best person to advise you but if the laziness is the main issue have you tried setting specific times to paint? So that you are always sitting down and doing something during that time - whether it's a quick and messy sketch or following a video tutorial or reading a chapter of an art book. That could get you into the habit of actually getting on with stuff (I do it for other things, like my dissertation).

Not getting around to developing your skills would mean to me that you need to find your passion. When you are passionate, you want to work. Having an inquiring mind is very important too, and there is much to learn in Art Rage. Choose something that intrigues you and find out how to do it. That might spur you on to try something after that.